Obituary: Philip Nutman

Author and screenwriter Philip Nutman (b.1963) died on October 7. Nutman’s only novel, the zombie novel Wet Work, was nominated for the Bram Stoker Award for First Novel. His short fiction appeared in numerous anthologies and he wrote the screenplay to the film The Girl Next Door, which he also produced. Nutman appeared as an actor in several low budget films, including Death Collector. Nutman also worked on numerous comics during his career.

Obituary: Jerry G. Bishop

Actor and writer Jerry G. Bishop (b. Jerry Ghan, 1936) died on September 15. Bishop started out in radio and in 1965 and 1966 traveled with the Beatles as they toured the US. In 1969, he became the voice of Screaming Yellow Theater on WFLD in Chicago, announcing horror films and later created the on-screen persona of Svengoolie, which he performed until he moved to California. The role was then carried on by Rich Koz, first as Son of Svengoolie, and later using the original name.

Shirley Jackson Award Winners

The Shirley Jackson Award winners were announced at Readercon on July 14. The Shirley Jackson Awards were established to recognize outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.

  • Novel: Edge, by Koji Suzuki
  • Novella: “Sky,” by Kaaron Warren
  • Novelette: “Reeling for the Empire,” by Karen Russell
  • Short Fiction:”A Natural History of Autumn,” by Jeffrey Ford
  • Single-Author Collection: Crackpot Palace, by Jeffrey Ford
  • Edited Anthology: Exotic Gothic 4: Postscripts #28/29, edited by Danel Olson

For more information…

Obituary: Bob Carter

Actor Bob Carter (b.1929) died on June 30. Carter was better known by his screen name, Sammy Terry, under which he hosted Nightmare Theater in Indiana in the 1960s and 1970s. Terry would air two horror films back to back, providing camp entertainment during the commercial breaks and talking to a rubber spider named George.

Bram Stoker Winners

The Horror Writers of America announced the winners of the Bram Stoker Awards at the Stoker Weekend in New Orleans, Louisiana, on June 15.

  • Superior Achievement in a Novel: The Drowning Girl, by Caitlín R. Kiernan
  • Superior Achievement in a First Novel: Life Rage, by L.L. Soares
  • Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel: Flesh & Bone, by Jonathan Maberry
  • Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel: Witch Hunts: A Graphic History of the Burning Times, by Rocky Wood and Lisa Morton
  • Superior Achievement in Long Fiction: The Blue Heron, by Gene O’Neill
  • Superior Achievement in Short Fiction: “Magdala Amygdala,” by Lucy Snyder
  • Superior Achievement in a Screenplay: The Cabin in the Woods, by Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard
  • Superior Achievement in an Anthology: Shadow Show, edited by Mort Castle and Sam Weller
  • Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection: New Moon on the Water, by Mort Castle; Black Dahlia and White Rose: Stories, by Joyce Carol Oates
  • Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction: Trick or Treat: A History of Halloween, by Lisa Morton
  • Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection: Vampires, Zombies & Wanton Souls, by Marge Simon
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Robert R McCammon and Clive Barker
  • The Specialty Press Award: Jerad Walters of Centipede Press.
  • The Silver Hammer Award, for outstanding service to HWA: Charles Day
  • The President’s Richard Laymon Service Award: James Chambers.

For more information…

Shirley Jackson Award Nominees

The Shirley Jackson Awards were established to recognize outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic. The winners will be announced on July 14 at Readercon 24 in Burlington, Massachusetts.


  • The Drowning Girl, by Caitlín R. Kiernan
  • The Devil in Silver, by Victor LaValle
  • Edge, by Koji Suzuki
  • Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn
  • Immobility, by Brian Evenson


  • 28 Teeth of Rage, by Ennis Drake
  • Delphine Dodd, by S.P. Miskowski
  • I’m Not Sam, by Jack Ketchum and Lucky McKee
  • The Indifference Engine, by Project Itoh
  • “Sky,” by Kaaron Warren


  • “The Crying Child,” by Bruce McAllister (originally published as “The Bleeding Child”
  • “The House on Ashley Avenue,” by Ian Rogers
  • “Reeling for the Empire,” by Karen Russell
  • “Wild Acre,” by Nathan Ballingrud
  • “The Wish Head,” by Jeffrey Ford

Short Fiction:

  • “Bajazzle,” by Margo Lanagan
  • “How We Escaped Our Certain Fate,” by Dan Chaon
  • “Little America,” by Dan Chaon
  • “The Magician’s Apprentice,” by Tamsyn Muir
  • “A Natural History of Autumn,” by Jeffrey Ford
  • “Two Houses,” by Kelly Link

Single-Author Collection:

  • Crackpot Palace, by Jeffrey Ford
  • Errantry, by Elizabeth Hand
  • The Pottawatomie Giant and Other Stories, by Andy Duncan
  • Remember Why You Fear Me, by Robert Shearman
  • The Woman Who Married a Cloud, by Jonathan Carroll
  • Windeye, by Brian Evenson

Edited Anthology:

  • 21st Century Dead, edited by Christopher Golden
  • Black Wings II, edited by S. T. Joshi
  • Exotic Gothic 4: Postscripts #28/29, edited by Danel Olson
  • Night Shadows, edited by Greg Herren and J. M. Redmann
  • Shadow Show: All-New Stories in Celebration of Ray Bradbury, edited by Sam Weller and Mort Castle

For more information…

Obituary: Basil Copper

British author Basil Copper (b.1924) died on April 3. Copper’s first story, “The Spider,” appeared in 1964 in the Fifth Pan Book of Horror Stories. Beginning in the 1970s, many of his works were published by August Derleth and Arkham House. Following Derleth’s death, Copper edited Derleth’s Solar Pons stories into a two volume omnibus. In 1975, his collection, From Evil’s Pillow, was nominated for a World Fantasy Award. He also wrote non-fiction works on vampires and werewolves.

Obituary: Jesús Franco

Spanish director Jesús Franco (b.1930) died on April 2, a week after suffering a stroke. Franco began composing music as a six year old and in the 1950s turned his attention to film. Franco was a prolific director of horror films, including Succubus, Le lac des morts vivants, and Drácula contra Frankenstein. In many of the more than 180 films he directed he also worked as composer, writer, cinematographer, and editor. Early in his career, Franco wrote some fiction under the name David Khume.

Obituary: David B. Silva

Horror author David B. Silva (b.1950) died on March 13. Silva edited the magazine The Horror Show from 1983 through 1990 and began publishing short fiction in 1983 with the story “Beth” in Eldritch Tales. His short story “The Calling” won the Bram Stoker Award and his collection Through Shattered Glass won the International Horror Guild Award. Silva’s novels included The Disappeared and Child of Darkness. With Paul F. Olson, he edited two horror anthologies.

Obituary: James Herbert

British author James Herbert (b.1943) died on March 20 at his home in Sussex. Herbert wrote his first horror novel, The Rats in 10 weeks when he was 28. It was later made into a film, as were three of his other novels. His novels include ’46, The Survivors, and The Secret of Crickley Hall. In 2010, he was named a Member of the Order of the British Empire by Queen Elizabeth and a Grand Master by the World Horror Society.