Obituary: Marcia Strassman

Actress Marcia Strassman (b.1948) died on October 26 from breast cancer. Strassman was best known for her role as Julie Kotter on Welcome Back, Kotter, but also had numerous genre credits including the film Honey, I Shrunk the Kids and sequels, and the television show Tremors. She also had appearances in episodes of Highlander, Time Express, and Amazing Stories.

Obituary: Lynda Bellingham

Actress Lynda Bellingham (b.Meredith Lee Hughes, 1948) died on October 19. Bellingham is best known to genre audiences for her role as The Inquisitor in the season long Doctor Who serial “The Trial of a Time Lord” in 1986. She also appeared in episodes of Blakes 7 and Jackanory. She also appeared in two series of All Creatures Great and Small, opposite Peter Davison.

Obituary: Angus Lennie

Actor Angus Lennie (b.1930) died on September 14. Best known for his role as Ives in The Great Escape, Lennie also appeared in two Doctor Who serials: The Ice Warriors, opposite Patrick Troughton’s Doctor, and Terror of the Zygons, opposite Tom Baker. He also appeared in an episode of Target Luna and portrayed Mr. Tumnus in three episodes of the 1967 television series The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.

Obituary: Richard Kiel

Actor Richard Kiel (b.1939) died on September 10. Kiel is best known for his portrayal of the villainous Jaws in two James Bond films. He also was originally cast as The Incredible Hulk, but was replaced by Lou Ferigno before the show went to air, although at least one of his scenes remained in the pilot. He portrayed the Kanamit in the seminal The Twilight Zone episode “To Serve Man,” as well as appearing in other science fiction shows and films.

Obituary: Donatas Banionis

Actor Donatas Banionis (b.1924) died on September 4. Banionis starred in the 1972 film Solaris as well as The Red Tent, a Russian adaptation of The Little Prince, a Russian adaptation of The Martian Chronicles, and Begstvo mistera Mak-Kinli.

Emmy Award Winners

The Primetime Emmy Awards were presented on August 25. On August 16, the Creative Emmy Awards were presented in a non-televised ceremony. Below is a list of categories with winners of genre interest.

  • Outstanding Animated Program: Bob’s Burgers
  • Outstanding Short-Format Animated Program: Disney Mickey Mouse, “‘O Sole Minnie”
  • Outstanding Art Direction for a Contemporary or Fantasy Series (Single-Camera): Game of Thrones, Deborah Riley, Production Designer; Paul Ghirardani, Art Director; Rob Cameron, Set Decorator
  • Outstanding Costumes for a Series: Game of Thrones, Michele Clapton, Costume Designer; Sheena Wichary, Costume Supervisor; Alexander Fordham, Assistant Costume Designer; Nina Ayres, Assistant Costume Designer
  • Outstanding Costumes for a Miniseries, Movie, or a Special: American Horror Story: Coven, Lou Eyrich, Costume Designer; Elizabeth Macey, Costume Supervisor; Ken Van Duyne, Assistant Costume Designer
  • Outstanding Multi-Camera Picture Editing for a Comedy Series: The Big Bang Theory, “The Cooper Extraction,” Peter Chalkos
  • Outstanding Hairstyling for a Miniseries or a Movie: American Horror Story: Coven, Monte C. Haught, Michelle Ceglia, Yolanda Mercadel, and Daina Daigle
  • Outstanding Prosthetic Makeup for a Series, Miniseries, Movie, or a Special: Game of Thrones, “The Children,” Jane Walker and Barrie Gower
  • Outstanding Music Composition for a Series (Original Dramatic Score): COSMOS: A SpaceTime Odyssey, “Standing Up in the Milky Way, Alan Silvestri
  • Outstanding Original Main Title Theme Music: COSMOS: A SpaceTime Odyssey, Alan Silvestri
  • Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series: Jim Parsons and “Sheldon Cooper” in The Big Bang Theory
  • Outstanding Lead Actress in a Miniseries, or a Movie: Jessica Lange as “Fiona Goode” in American Horror Story: Coven
  • Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Miniseries, or a Movie: Kathy Bates as “Madame Delphine LaLaurie” in American Horror Story: Coven
  • Outstanding Sound Editing for a Series: Black Sails, Benjamin Cook, Iain Eyre, Sue Cahill, Jeffrey A. Pitts, Tim Tuchrello, Brett Voss, Michael Baber, Jeffrey Wilhoit, and James “Jimmy” Moriana
  • Outstanding Sound Editing for Nonfiction Programming (Single Or Multi-Camera): COSMOS: A SpaceTime Odyssey, “Standing Up In The Milky Way,” Christopher Harvengt, Richard S. Steele, Kevin Meltcher, Jeff Carson, Bob Costanza, Lisa Varetakis, Bill Bell, Tim Chilton, and Jill Sanders
  • Outstanding Special and Visual Effects: Game of Thrones, “The Children,” Joe Bauer, Joern Grosshans, Steve Kullback, Adam Chazen, Eric Carney, Sabrina Gerhardt, Matthew Rouleau, Thomas H. Schelesny, and Robert Simon
  • Outstanding Special and Visual Effects in a Supporting Role: Black Sails, “I.,” Erik Henry, Paul Graff, George Murphy, Annemarie Griggs, Mitch Claspy, Hattingh, Doug Hardy, Nick Hsieh, and Steve Messing
  • Outstanding Writing for a Miniseries, Movie, or a Dramatic Special: American Horror Story: Coven, “Bitchcraft,” written by Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk

For more information…

Obituary: Richard Attenborough

Actor Richard Attenborough (b.1923) died on August 24. Attenborough is best known in science fiction circles for his portrayal of John Hammond in Jurassic Park and The Lost World: Jurassic Park. He also portrayed Kris Kringle in the remake of Miracle on 34th Street and Albert Blossom in the original Doctor Dolittle. Attenborough also played Bartlett in The Great Escape and directed the films Shadowlands about C. S. Lewis, Chaplin, and the Academy Award winning Gandhi.

John Hinde Award Call for Entries

The John Hinde Award is an Australian Award presented for exceptional Science Fiction Scripts – Produced and Unproduced by the Australian Writers’ Guild. The prize includes a $10,000 cash prize and a meeting with producers. To apply for the John Hinde Award, please submit the 2014 John Hinde Award Application Form. Submissions close 9am Monday 22nd September 2014.

For more information…

Curt Siodmak Award

The Curt Siodmak Award for science fiction films and television in German was presented on August 15.

  • Best Science Fiction Film: Gravity
  • Best Science Fiction Television: Doctor Who

For more information…

Obituary: Lauren Bacall

Actress Lauren Bacall (b.Betty Joan Perske, 1924) died on August 12. Bacall was best known for her dramatic roles and relationship with Humphrey Bogart, with whom she appeared in several films, but she also appeared in several genre films, lending her voice to the American version of Howl’s Moving Castle, and appearing in Misery and a television adaptation of Blithe Spirit. One of her most famous non-genre roles was in The Big Sleep, written by genre author Leigh Brackett. In 2010, Bacall received an honorary Academy Award.