TAFF Deadline Extended

The current TAFF Administrators, Curt Phillips and Anna Raftery, have announced the extension of the voting deadline for TAFF. The new deadline, is 17th April 2017 Midnight BST/16:00 PDT/17:00 MDT/18:00 CDT/19:00 EDT, which coincides with this year’s Eastercon, Innominate. Raftery will be attending Innominate and will be accepting ballots there. This year’s TAFF nominees include Sarah Gulde, Alissa McKersie, John Purcell.
For more information…

Save Ted White’s Home

Fan, author, and editor Ted White is in danger of losing his home. White has lived in the house, which his parents built in 1935, for practically his entire life. Unfortunately, living on a fixed income, the property taxes are becoming too onerous for him. he has set up a GoFundMe campaign to raise the $15,000 he needs to cover his current tax bill and other expenses. In addition to being a long-active fan, White edited Amazing Stories and Fantastic from 1968 through 1978.
For more information or to donate…

HWA Endowments

The Horror Writers of America have announced the recipients of its inaugural Young Adults Write Now endowments. Each library will receive $500 to fund teen writing events.

  • Athens-Limestone Public Library, Athens AL: “The Page Turner Program”
  • Fayetteville-Lincoln County Public Library, Fayetteville TN: “Something Wicked We Write”
  • Librarian Association of Rockland County Teen Division, Spring Valley NY: “SCRAWL: Rockland Teens Write”
  • Louisiana, Missouri Public Library, Louisiana MO: “The Missouri Monster Squad: Teen Fiction Writers Program”
  • W. T. Bland Public Library, Mount Dora FL: “Dreadful Teen Writing Program”

For more information…

DUFF Race Opens

The DUFF administrators have announced that this year’s Down Under Fan Fund (DUFF) race is now open for voting. The winner will travel to Continuum 13 in Melbourne from June 9-12. For the second year in a row, The race only has one nominee, however voting remains important as a means of raising the necessary funds to keep DUFF a continuing concern. Votes will be accepted until March 10, 2017.

The candidate is:

  • Paul Weimer

A DUFF ballot may be downloaded from TAFF. (pdf)
Voting may be done on-line at this link.

Pete Weston Memorial Scholarship

An anonymous donor has offered a scholarship to Conrunner, a convention about running cons scheduled for next month, in Peter Weston’s memory. The scholarship will include membership and two night’s accommodation. Anyone may apply by contacting Steve Cooper on Facebook, although precedence will be given to people attending their first Conrunner.
For more information…
For information about Conrunner…

Charlie’s Army Needs You

Madison fan Charlie Bernstein is known for throwing Cow-themed parties at conventions in support of OdysseyCon in Madison, WI. In September, while driving to work, Bernstein’s car was struck and he has been left paralyzed. A GoFundMe has been created to help raise the funds needed to provide Bernstein with the bed and retrofitting his house needs to allow him to live there.
For more information or to donate…

TAFF Candidates

Sarah Gulde, Alissa McKersie, and John Purcell have declared they are running for TAFF, to travel to Helsinki for Worldcon 75 in 2017. The voting deadline is March 4.
For more information…

2017 GUFF Candidates

Donna Maree Hanson, Sam Hawke, Belle McQuattie, and Alexandra Pierce & Alisa Krasnostein are this year’s candidates for GUFF, the Get-Up-and-Over Fan Fund. The winner of the race will travel from Australasia to Europe for Worldcon 75, next year’s Worldcon in Helsinki. GUFF is not limited by geography, so anyone may vote.
For more information…

Conrunner Donation

Satellite 4, the 2014 Eastercon, has announced a donation of £1,000 to Conrunner, a UK con-running convention. The funds will be used to provide at least three bursaries, including membership in Conrunner. The deadline for the initial submissions is December 18. Conrunner is scheduled to take place the weekend of February 10-12 in Nottingham.
For more information…

SLF Diversity Grants

The Speculative Literature Foundation has announced the winners of the Diverse Writers Grant and Diverse Worlds Grant. The Diverse Writers Grant was given to Gabriel Thibodeau and the Diverse Worlds Grant went to Eden Royce. Each grant is for $500. The Diverse Writers Grant offers support to new and emerging writers from underrepresented and underprivileged groups whose marginalized identities may present additional obstacles in the writing/publishing process. The Diverse Worlds Grant is presented for work that best presents a diverse world, regardless of the writer’s background.
For more information…