Lowder Named Editor

James Lowder has been named fiction editor for Chaosium. Chaosium intends to relaunch its fiction line, focusing on the Cthulhu Mythos, in 2018. Lowder was retained by Chaosium in 2015 to examine their current copyright situation and figure out where the company stood regarding publishing contracts, rights, and obligations.

For more information…

Tor Book Launches Imprint

Tor Books has announced the launch of Tor Labs, a new imprint which will focus on experimental approaches to genre publishing. They will begin with podcast publishing with the August 2 debut of a science fiction audio drama by Mac Rogers. Marco Palmieri will serve as senior editor and Jennifer Gunnels will serve as editor of the line.
For more information…

Weisskopf Named Solstice Recipient

SFWA has announced that Toni Weisskopf will be one of the recipients of the Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award at this year’s SFWA Nebula Conference in Pittsburgh. Weisskopf has served as the editor and publisher of Baen Books, creating the company’s innovative e-publishing program. She has founded awards for science fiction, fantasy, and military science fiction. Outside her professional service to the field, Weisskopf has run conventions and published fanzines. The Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award is presented to someone who has made a sizeable and positive difference in the science fiction community.

Stygian Press to Release Call of Cthulhu Books

Stephanie McAlea of Stygian Books has announced plans to update and publish four books by Tom Lynch which were previously published by Miskatonic River Press. The books, New Tales of the Miskatonic Valley, More Tales of the Miskatonic Valley, Our Ladies of Sorrow, and Tales of the Sleepless City will be updated for seventh edition Call of Cthulhu and printed in pdf, softcover, and hardcover beginning in 2017.
For more information…

Baen Adds Lexile Scores

Baen Books has announced that they will begin adding Lexile scores to the webpages for their books aimed at young adults. Lexile scores are designed to help students and teachers determine which books offer the proper challenge for students based on their individual reading levels. The first Baen books to include Lexile scores will be David Weber’s A Beautiful Friendship, Treecat Wars and Fire Season, by David Weber and Jane Lindskold, and for Tony Daniel’s The Dragon Hammer.
For more information… (.pdf)

WSFA Award

The winner of this year’s WSFA Small Press Award, presented at Capclave on October 8 to original short fiction published by a small press, is “Today I Am Paul,” by Martin L. Shoemaker. The story was published in Clarkesworld Magazine.

For more information…

Obituary: Dave Kyle

Fan Dave Kyle (b.1919) died on September 18 following complications from an endoscopy. Kyle was one of the original Furturians and wrote and disseminated the famed yellow pamphlet that led to the first Exclusion Act. He chaired Nycon II, the 1956 Worldcon and the following year chartered a plane to the London Worldcon for his honeymoon. He founded the Knight of The Order of Saint Fantony in 1961, was awarded the Big Heart Award in 1973, and was fan guest of honor at Constellation, the 1983 Worldcon. With Martin Greenberg, he founded early science fiction hardcover publishing company Gnome Press in 1948.

Arabic SF Publisher Launches

Noura Al No’man, an Emirati novelist, has announced the launch of Makhtouta 5229, a new publishing house aimed at science fiction. The publishing house, to be based in Sharjah, UAE, will produce science fiction, fantasy, with suspense, paranormal mystery, and supernatural fiction. The launch coincides with 2016 being the year of the book in the United Arab Emirates.

For more information…

WSFA Finalists

The finalists for the 2016 Washington Science Fiction Association (WSFA) Small Press Awards have been announced. The awards are given annually to recognize excellence in short fiction originally published in small press venues. This year’s winners will be announced October 7-9 at Capclave.

  • “The Art of Deception,” by Stephanie Burgis
  • “Burn Her,” by Tanith Lee
  • “Cat Pictures Please,” by Naomi Kritzer
  • “The Empress in Her Glory,” by Robert Reed
  • “The Haunting of Apollo A7LB,” by Hannu Rajaniemi
  • “”Headspace,” by Beth Davis Cato
  • “Leashing the Muse,” by Larry Hodges
  • “Leftovers,” by Leona Wisoker
  • “Today I Am Paul,” by Martin L. Shoemaker

For more information…

More Changes at Tor

In the wake of the announcement that Patrick Nielsen Hayden and Linda Quinton had been promoted at Devi Pillai hired, Tor Books has announced that Diana Gill has joined the company as executive editor after working at HarperVoyager and Berkley. In addition, Liz Gorinsky and Miriam Weinberg have been promoted to Senior Editors, Jennifer Gunnels and Diana Pho have been promoted to Editors, Christopher Morgan has been promoted to Junior Associate Editor, and Melissa Singer has been named Manager of Editorial Operations. At Forge, Bess Cozby has been named Editor and Elayne Becker has been named Junior Associate Editor. Whitney Ross was promoted to senior editor and Amy Stapp was promoted to editor at Tor YA.
For more information…