Game Writers Eligible for SFWA

SFWA has announced that game writers will be eligible for membership as of August 1, 2016. Games in any medium may be used for qualification so long as the game has a narrative element, is in English, and in the science fiction, fantasy, horror or related genres.
For more information…

SFWA Election Results

SFWA announced the results of their elections at their Business Meeting on May 14. Last year saw some officers elected for two year terms and others elected for one year terms. This year, elections were only held for positions which were elected for one year terms last year. Erin M. Hartshorn, Justina Ireland, and Lawrence M. Schoen ran for two open Director-at-Large positions.

  • Vice President: M.C.A. Hogarth, re-elected, unopposed
  • CFO: Bud Sparhawk, re-elected, unopposed
  • Director at Large: Justina Ireland
  • Director at Large: Lawrence M. Schoen

For more information…

Nebula Winners

The Nebula Awards were presented on Saturday, May 14 during the SFWA Nebula Conference (chaired by Steven H Silver, which explains the delayed news postings on this site). The ceremony began with a performance of “Radio SFWA,” followed by a speech by toastmaster John Hodgman. The evening ended with nominees who didn’t win presenting the traditional “Alternate Universe Speeches.” The winners are listed below.

  • Best Novel: Uprooted, by Naomi Novik
  • Best Novella: Binti, by Nnedi Okorafor
  • Best Novelette: “Our Lady of the Open Road,” by Sarah Pinsker
  • Best Short Story: “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers,” by Alyssa Wong
  • Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award: C. J. Cherryh
  • Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy: Updraft, by Fran Wilde
  • Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award: Sir Terry Pratchett
  • Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation: Mad Max: Fury Road, by George Miller, Brendan McCarthy, and Nick Lathouris
  • Kevin O’Donnell, Jr. Award for Service to SFWA: Dr. Lawrence M. Schoen

SFWA Plans to Add Game Writers

At the SFWA Business Meeting on May 14, Fran Wilde announced that SFWA has elected to permit game writers to apply for membership once eligibility guidelines have been set.

Pratchett Named Solstice Recipient

SFWA has announced that Sir Terry Pratchett will be the recipient of this year’s Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award. The award is presented for those who have had a significant impact on the science fiction or fantasy landscape. In addition to his novels and short stories, Pratchett was also active in Alzheimer’s research and animal conservation. The award, which has been re-named this year to honor Kate Wilhelm, will be presented on March 14 as part of the SFWA Nebula Conference at the Palmer House in Chicago.

For more information…

Nebula Nominations

Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) has announced the nominees for this year’s Nebula Awards, Norton Award, and Bradbury Award. All of the awards will be presented at the 50th annual Nebula Award Banquet in Chicago, IL on May 14, with Toast Master John Hodgman. All SFWA Active members may vote for the Nebulas from March 1 through March 31. This year’s SFWA Nebula Conference will take place at Chicago’s Palmer House from May 12-15.


  • Raising Caine, by Charles E. Gannon
  • The Fifth Season, by N.K. Jemisin
  • Ancillary Mercy, by Ann Leckie
  • The Grace of Kings, by Ken Liu
  • Uprooted, by Naomi Novik
  • Barsk: The Elephants’ Graveyard, by Lawrence M. Schoen
  • Updraft, by Fran Wilde


  • Wings of Sorrow and Bone, by Beth Cato
  • “The Bone Swans of Amandale,” by C.S.E. Cooney
  • “The New Mother,” by Eugene Fischer
  • “The Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn,” by Usman T. Malik
  • Binti, by Nnedi Okorafor
  • “Waters of Versailles,” by Kelly Robson


  • “Rattlesnakes and Men,” by Michael Bishop
  • “And You Shall Know Her by the Trail of Dead,” by Brooke Bolander
  • “Grandmother-nai-Leylit’s Cloth of Winds,” by Rose Lemberg
  • “The Ladies’ Aquatic Gardening Society,” by Henry Lien
  • “The Deepwater Bride,” by Tamsyn Muir
  • “Our Lady of the Open Road,” by Sarah Pinsker

Short Story

  • “Madeleine,” by Amal El-Mohtar
  • “Cat Pictures Please,” by Naomi Kritzer
  • “Damage,” by David D. Levine
  • “When Your Child Strays From God,” by Sam J. Miller
  • “Today I Am Paul,” by Martin L. Shoemaker
  • “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers,” by Alyssa Wong

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

  • Ex Machina, Written by Alex Garland
  • Inside Out, Screenplay by Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley; Original Story by Pete Docter, Ronnie del Carmen
  • Jessica Jones: AKA Smile, Teleplay by Scott Reynolds & Melissa Rosenberg; Story by Jamie King & Scott Reynolds
  • Mad Max: Fury Road, Written by George Miller, Brendan McCarthy, Nick Lathouris
  • The Martian, Screenplay by Drew Goddard
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Written by Lawrence Kasdan & J.J. Abrams and Michael Arndt

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy

  • Seriously Wicked, by Tina Connolly
  • Court of Fives, by Kate Elliott
  • Cuckoo Song, by Frances Hardinge
  • Archivist Wasp, by Nicole Kornher-Stace
  • Zeroboxer, by Fonda Lee
  • Shadowshaper, by Daniel José Older
  • Bone Gap, by Laura Ruby
  • Nimona, by Noelle Stevenson
  • Updraft, by Fran Wilde

For more information…
To attend the SFWA Nebula Conference…

Cherryh Named Grand Master

SFWA has announced that C. J. Cherryh will be named the Damon Knight Grand Master at this year’s SFWA Nebula Conference in Chicago. Cherryh is the author fo Downbelow Station, Cyteen, The Faded Sun series, and the Chanur novels. Her works span the gamut from space opera to historical fantasy. SFWA President Cat Rambo said, ” [Cherryh] is a master of long-running series involving worlds and characters that the reader can visit and revisit with a true sense of wonder each and every time.” Cherryh has received the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Author, two Hugo Awards, and was the Guest of Honor at the 1998 Worldcon.

For more information…

Obituary: Bud Webster

Author Bud Webster (b.Clarence Howard “Bud” Webster, 1952) died on February 13. Webster wrote the Bubba Pritchert series, but may be better known as an sf historian, having written numerous columns about science fiction authors and book collecting. His non-fiction has been collected in PastMasters and Anthopology 101. Webster managed SFWA’s Estate Project since 2007, trying to build a comprehensive database of the estates and rights holders for authors. In 2012, he received the Kevin O’Donnell, Jr. Service to SFWA Award.

Hodgman Toastmasters the Nebulas

John Hodgman, longtime Resident Expert on The Daily Show with Jon Stewart and the voice of the Father and the Other Father in the film Coraline, will serve as toastmaster at the 50th Nebula Awards banquet, held during the SFWA Nebula Conference on May 14 in Chicago, IL. The conference will run from May 12-15 at the Palmer House and features four days of seminars, workshops, and career building and network opportunities.
For more information…

Clarke Named Bulletin Editor

Cat Rambo has announced that Neil Clarke has been named editor of the SFWA Bulletin. Clarke is the Hugo and World Fantasy Award winning editor of Clarkesworld. Clarke has also been working as interim editor of the SFWA Bulletin since the departure of previous editor John Klima.

For more information…