Obituary: Kathy Thornton

Texas fan Kathy Thornton (b.1957) died on January 16. Thornton was one of the founding members of Con-Troll in Houston and worked on Texas NASFiCs and Worldcons. She served on the Gallifreyan Consulate. In 2005, she was the fan Guest of Honor at Apollocon.

Philip K. Dick Nominees

The nominees for the Philip K. Dick Award, presented annually for best paperback original book by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the Philip K. Dick Trust, have been announced. The winner will be announced on Friday, March 25 at Norwescon 39 in Seatac, WA.

  • Edge of Dark, by Brenda Cooper
  • After the Saucers Landed, by Douglas Lain
  • (R)evolution, by P.J. Manney
  • Apex, by Ramez Naam
  • Windswept, by Adam Rakunas
  • Archangel, edited by Marguerite Reed

For more information…

Neffy Awards

The Neffy Awards are presented by the National Fantasy Fan Federation (N3F). The first Neffy was presented in 1949 to Ray Bradbury and they have been given out annually since 2005. This year, two awards were presented:

  • Best Editor: Toni Weisskopf: Mindful that editors are judged on their extended record, not a single work in a single year, and that other editors may in future years be honored for their work in the same time period, the nomination for 2015 for Best Editor is to Toni Weisskopf, Baen Books
  • Heroic Commendation: All of Hugo Fandom for reviving the most ancient and honorable of all fannish customs, the all-hobby fan feud.

Rockhead Partners with Kastensmidt

Rockhead Games has announced a partnership with Christopher Kastensmidt’s company Consultacad to develop transmedia content for Starlit Adventures. Already popular in Latin America and China, Starlit Adventures will launch worldwide on November 19.

For more information…

Potential News Delay This Week

This week, Sasquan, the Worldcon, is taking place in Spokane, Washington, which means a lot of SF news will be breaking, including the announcement of the Hugo Award winners and the site selection results for 2017. News on this site, however, may be delayed to to surgery for the editor. I’ll post as time and recovery permit.