Sidewise Award Winners

The winners of the Sidewise Award for Alternate History were announced at Anticipation on August 7.

  • Long Form: The Dragon’s Nine Sons, by Chris Roberson
  • Short Form: “Sacrifice,” by Mary Rosenblum

For more information…

2008 Sidewise Awards Nominees

The 2008 Sidewise Awards will be presented at Anticipation, the 67th Worldcon, to be held in Montreal, Canada from August 6-10, 2009. The Sidewise Awards for Alternate History were established in 1995 to recognize excellence in alternate history fiction.

Short Form:

  • “A Brief Guide to Other Histories,” Paul J. McAuley
  • “G-Men,” by Kristine Kathryn Rusch
  • “Night Bird Soaring,” by T.L. Morganfield
  • “The People’s Machine,” by Tobias Buckell
  • “Poison Victory,” by Albert E. Cowdrey
  • “Sacrifice,” by Mary Rosenblum

Long Form:

  • The Affinity Bridge, by George Mann
  • The Dragon’s Nine Sons, by Chris Roberson
  • Half a Crown, by Jo Walton
  • Nation, by Terry Pratchett
  • Swiftly, by Adam Roberts

For more information…

Cheney to Pen AH

Baen Books has announced that following in the footsteps of former Speaker of the House Newt Gingrich, former Vice-President Dick Cheney has signed to write an alternate history. Cheney’s novel, tentatively entitled The Fall of America, is described as an alternate history dystopia about a Gore presidency and the aftermath of the attacks of September 11, 2001. Publication is expected in 2010.

For more information…