Design a Hugo Logo

WSFS is holding a contest to come up with an official logo to be used for the Hugo Award. Currently, the Hugo has the iconic rocket given out as an award, but there is no graphic logo which can be used to help promote the award on books, websites, flyers, etc. The winner will receive $500, a membership to an upcoming Worldcon, a glass trophy representing the design, and a collection of autographed Neil Gaiman books. The cash award is sponsored by SCIFI. The entry deadline is May 31.

For more information…

2009 DUFF Nominees Announced

This year’s DUFF nominees, to travel from Australasia to Montreal for Anticipation, have been announced. Voting is open to anyone active in fandom prior to January 1, 2008. This year’s nominees include Emma Hawkes, Chris Nelson, Alison Barton, and the team of David Cake and Grant Watson.

For more information…

Save the Semiprozine

At Denvention, a resolution was passed at the WSFS Business Meeting to eradicate the Best Semiprozine Hugo. If the resolution passes again at Anticipation this year, the category will be removed from future Hugo ballots. In an attempt to forestall passage, Neil Clarke has put up a website to explain why the Semiprozine category should be retained and to educate potential voters on magazines which fall into the Semiprozine category.

For more information…

Prometheus and Libertarian Hall of Fame Nominees

The Libertarian Futurist Society has announced the short list for this year’s Hall of Fame and Prometheus Award nominees. Voting for both the Hall of Fame and Best Novel will take place in July. The award will be presented at Anticipation.

Best Book

  • Matter, by Iain Banks
  • Little Brother, by Cory Doctorow
  • The January Dancer, by Michael Flynn
  • Saturn’s Children, by Charles Stross
  • Opening Atlantis, by Harry Turtledove
  • Half a Crown, by Jo Walton

Hall of Fame

  • Falling Free, a novel by Lois McMaster Bujold (1988);
  • Courtship Rite, a novel by Donald M. Kingsbury (1982);
  • “As Easy as A.B.C.,” a short story by Rudyard Kipling (1912);
  • The Lord of the Rings, a three-volume novel by J. R. R. Tolkien (1955);
  • The Once and Future King, including The Book of Merlyn, a novel by T. H. White (1977)
  • The Golden Age, a novel by John C. Wright (2002)

For more information…

Hugo Nominees

Anticipation has announced this year’s Hugo Ballot. The Hugo Awards are voted on by the membership of the World Science Fiction Convention. The winners will be announced at the Hugo ceremony at Anticipation.

Best Novel (639 Ballots Cast)

  • Anathem, by Neal Stephenson
  • The Graveyard Book, by Neil Gaiman
  • Little Brother, by Cory Doctorow
  • Saturn’s Children, by Charles Stross
  • Zoe’s Tale, by John Scalzi

Best Novella (337 Ballots Cast)

  • “The Erdmann Nexus,” by Nancy Kress
  • “The Political Prisoner,” by Charles Coleman Finlay
  • “The Tear,” by Ian McDonald
  • “True Names,” by Benjamin Rosenbaum & Cory Doctorow
  • “Truth,” by Robert Reed

Best Novelette (373 Ballots Cast)

  • “Alastair Baffle’s Emporium of Wonders,” by Mike Resnick
  • “The Gambler,” by Paolo Bacigalupi
  • “Pride and Prometheus,” by John Kessel
  • “The Ray-Gun: A Love Story,” by James Alan Gardner
  • “Shoggoths in Bloom,” by Elizabeth Bear

Best Short Story (448 Ballots Cast)

  • “26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss,” by Kij Johnson
  • “Article of Faith,” by Mike Resnick
  • “Evil Robot Monkey,” by Mary Robinette Kowal
  • “Exhalation,” by Ted Chiang
  • “From Babel’s Fall’n Glory We Fled,” by Michael Swanwick

Best Related Book (263 Ballots Cast)

  • Rhetorics of Fantasy, by Farah Mendlesohn
  • Spectrum 15: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art, by Cathy Fenner & Arnie Fenner, eds.
  • The Vorkosigan Companion: The Universe of Lois McMaster Bujold, by Lillian Stewart Carl & John Helfers, eds.
  • What It Is We Do When We Read Science Fiction, by Paul Kincaid
  • Your Hate Mail Will Be Graded: A Decade of Whatever, 1998-2008, by John Scalzi

Best Graphic Story (212 Ballots Cast)

  • The Dresden Files: Welcome to the Jungle Written, by Jim Butcher, art by Ardian Syaf
  • Girl Genius, Volume 8: Agatha Heterodyne and the Chapel of Bones, Written by Kaja & Phil Foglio, art by Phil Foglio, colors by Cheyenne Wright
  • Fables: War and Pieces, Written by Bill Willingham, pencilled by Mark Buckingham, art by Steve Leialoha and Andrew Pepoy, color by Lee Loughridge, letters by Todd Klein
  • Schlock Mercenary: The Body Politic, Story and art by Howard Tayler
  • Serenity: Better Days, Written by Joss Whedon & Brett Matthews, art by Will Conrad, color by Michelle Madsen, cover by Jo Chen
  • Y: The Last Man, Volume 10: Whys and Wherefores, Written/created by Brian K. Vaughan, pencilled/created by Pia Guerra, inked by Jose Marzan, Jr.

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form (436 Ballots Cast)

  • The Dark Knight, Christopher Nolan & David S. Goyer, story; Jonathan Nolan and Christopher Nolan, screenplay; based on characters created by Bob Kane; Christopher Nolan, director
  • Hellboy II: The Golden Army, Guillermo del Toro & Mike Mignola, story; Guillermo del Toro, screenplay; based on the comic by Mike Mignola; Guillermo del Toro, director
  • Iron Man, Mark Fergus & Hawk Ostby and Art Marcum & Matt Holloway, screenplay; based on characters created by Stan Lee & Don Heck & Larry Lieber & Jack Kirby; Jon Favreau, director
  • METAtropolis, edited by John Scalzi; Elizabeth Bear, Jay Lake, Tobias Buckell, John Scalzi, and Karl Schroeder, writers
  • WALL-E, Andrew Stanton & Pete Docter, story; Andrew Stanton & Jim Reardon, screenplay; Andrew Stanton, director

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form (336 Ballots Cast)

  • Lost: “The Constant,” Carlton Cuse & Damon Lindelof, writers; Jack Bender, director
  • Doctor Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog, Joss Whedon, & Zack Whedon, & Jed Whedon, & Maurissa Tancharoen, writers; Joss Whedon, director
  • Battlestar Galactica: “Revelations,” Bradley Thompson & David Weddle, writers; Michael Rymer, director
  • Doctor Who: “Silence in the Library”/”Forest of the Dead,” Steven Moffat, writer; Euros Lyn, director
  • Doctor Who: “Turn Left,” Russell T. Davies, writer; Graeme Harper, director

Best Editor, Short Form (377 Ballots Cast)

  • Ellen Datlow
  • Stanley Schmidt
  • Jonathan Strahan
  • Gordon Van Gelder
  • Sheila Williams

Best Editor, Long Form (273 Ballots Cast)

  • Lou Anders
  • Ginjer Buchanan
  • David G. Hartwell
  • Beth Meacham
  • Patrick Nielsen Hayden

Best Professional Artist (334 Ballots Cast)

  • Daniel Dos Santos
  • Bob Eggleton
  • Donato Giancola
  • John Picacio
  • Shaun Tan

Best Semiprozine (283 Ballots Cast)

  • Clarkesworld Magazine, edited by Neil Clarke, Nick Mamatas, & Sean Wallace
  • Interzone, edited by Andy Cox
  • Locus, edited by Charles N. Brown, Kirsten Gong-Wong, & Liza Groen Trombi
  • The New York Review of Science Fiction, edited by Kathryn Cramer, Kris Dikeman, David G. Hartwell, & Kevin J. Maroney
  • Weird Tales, edited by Ann VanderMeer & Stephen H. Segal

Best Fan Writer (291 Ballots Cast)

  • Chris Garcia
  • John Hertz
  • Dave Langford
  • Cheryl Morgan
  • Steven H Silver

Best Fanzine (257 Ballots Cast)

  • Argentus, edited by Steven H Silver
  • Banana Wings, edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer
  • Challenger, edited by Guy H. Lillian III
  • The Drink Tank, edited by Chris Garcia
  • Electric Velocipede, edited by John Klima
  • File 770, edited by Mike Glyer

Best Fan Artist (187 Ballots Cast)

  • Alan F. Beck
  • Brad W. Foster
  • Sue Mason
  • Taral Wayne
  • Frank Wu

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (288 Ballots Cast)

  • Aliette de Bodard*
  • David Anthony Durham*
  • Felix Gilman
  • Tony Pi*
  • Gord Sellar*

*(Second year of eligibility)

For more information…