Julius Vogel Awards

The winners of the 2016 Sir Julius Vogel Awards have been announced. The awards are given annually by The Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand (SFFANZ) for excellence in science fiction and fantasy by New Zealanders and New Zealand residents. This year’s awards were presented at Au Contraire 2016.

  • Best Novel:
  • Ardus, by Jean Gilbert
  • Best Youth Novel: Dragons Realm, by Eileen Mueller
  • Best Novella / Novelette: The Ghost of Matter, by Octavia Cade
  • Best Short Story: “The Thief’s Tale,” by Lee Murray
  • Best Collected Work: Write Off Line 2015: The Earth We Knew, by Jean Gilbert, edited by Chad Dick
  • Best Professional Artwork: Cover for Shortcuts – Track 1, by K.C. Bailey
  • Best Professional Production/Publication: White Cloud Worlds Anthology 3, edited by Paul Tobin
  • Best Fan Production/ Publication: Phoenixine, edited by John & Lynelle Howell
  • Best Fan Writing: John Toon
  • Best Fan Artwork: Keith Smith, for contributions to Novazine
  • Best New Talent: Jean Gilbert
  • Services To Science Fiction, Fantasy And Horror: Marie Hodgkinson
  • Services to Fandom: Glenn Young

For more information…

GUFF Seeks Nominees

The Going Under/Get Up and Over Fan Fund is seeking European fans who would like to stand for the privilege of traveling to Swancon in Perth, Australia, to be held from March 29-April 1, or to Au Contraire in Wellington from July 12-14, 2013. Nominees will need three European and two Australasian nominators and should inform the GUFF administrators of their intentions, provide a 100 word statement and put up a bond. Deadline for nominations is October 11, with the candidates announced on October 13.

For more information…

Julius Vogel Winners

The winners of the Julius Vogel Awards were announce at Au Contraire in Wellington on August 29. The award is given to citizens or permanent residents of New Zealand and voted on by members of the New Zealand National Convention.

  • Best Novel: Beyond The Wall Of Time, by Russell Kirkpatrick
  • Best YA Novel: Brainjack, by Brian Falkner
  • Best Novella / Novellete: Wives, by Paul Haines
  • Best Short Story (tie): “Corrigan’s Exchange,” by Ripley Patton and “The Living Dead Boy,” by Grant Stone
  • Best Collected Work: Voyagers: Science Fiction Poetry from New Zealand, edited by Mark Pirie and Tim Jones
  • Best Artwork: The Test, by Serena Kearns
  • Best Dramatic Presentation: Under The Mountain
  • Best Professional Publication: Semaphore Magazine, edited by Marie Hodgkinson
  • Best New Talent: Simon Petrie
  • Best Fan Writing: Simon Litten for SJV Watch and SFFANZ Reviews
  • Best Fan Production: Coals to Newcastle (Short Film), by Yvonne Harrison
  • Fan Publication (tie): Phoenixine, edited by John & Lynelle Howell; Time Space Visualiser, edited by Adam McGechen
  • Services to Fandom: David Lee Smith, the founder of the Upper Hutt Science Fiction Club
  • Services to Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror: Philip Mann

For more information…