Aussiecon Make Ready Winners

Aussiecon 4, this year’s Worldcon, has announced the winners of their short story contest around the theme “Make Ready.” The contest, which was sponsored by the Australian Science Fiction Foundation, was meant to encourage the creation and appreciation of Australian science fiction.

  • Winner: “The Perforation,” by Helen Stubbs
  • 1st Runner Up: “The Rise & Fall of a Fair Dinkum Superhero,” by Aidan Doyle
  • Highly Commended: “The Promotion,” by Brooke Maggs
  • Highly Commended: “The Bicycle Rebellion,” by Laura E Goodin

For more information…

Worldcon Site Selection Ballot Released

Aussiecon 4 has released this year’s site selection ballot. Chicago in 2012 is running unopposed and is the only bid that appears on the ballot. Aussiecon members who vote will receive a supporting membership in the winning worldcon. This year’s voting fee is US$50/AU$55. The deadline for receipt of mail-in ballots is July 31, 2010

For more information…