Obituary: Alicia Johnson

Australian fan Alicia Johnson died on March 11. Johnson was the wife of Robin Johnson, who was the fan guest of honor at Aussiecon IV. Johnson had been suffering from cancer and entered palliative care a couple of days before her death.

Obituary: Harold Hopkins

Australian actor Harold Hopkins (b.1944) died on December 11. Hopkins appeared in episodes of Nightmares & Dreamscapes: From the Stories of Stephen King, Beastmaster, Time Trax, and the film The Clinic.

Obituary: Don Sharp

Australian director Don Sharp (b.1922) died on December 18. Sharp directed and wrote numerous films, including The Kiss of the Vampire, Rasputin: The Mad Monk, Curse of the Fly, and Those Fantastic Flying Fools. Much of his work was done for Hammer Studios.

Obituary: Sara Douglass

Australian author Sara Douglass Warneke (b.1957) died on September 26 of ovarian cancer, with which she was diagnosed in 2010. Warneke, who wrote as Sara Douglass, had several of her historical based fantasies published in the US, including The Wayfarer Redemption series, the Crucible series, The Troy Game, and The Devil’s Diadem, published just last month.

Chronos Awards

The winners of the Chronos Awards, presented for science fiction in the Australian state of Victoria, were announced at Continuum 7 in Melbourne on June 10.

  • Best Long Fiction: Madigan Mine, by Kirstyn McDermott
  • Best Short Fiction: “Her Gallant Needs,” by Paul Haines
  • Best Artwork: Australis Imaginarium cover, by Shaun Tan
  • Best Fan Writer: Alexandra Pierce
  • Best Fan Written Work: “Review: The Secret Feminist Cabal by Helen Merrick,” by Alexandra Pierce
  • Best Fan Artwork: Continuum 6 Props, by Rachel Holkner
  • Best Fan Publication: Live Boxcutters Doctor Who at AussieCon IV, by Josh Kinal and John Richards
  • Best Achievement: Programming: AussieCon IV, by Sue Ann Barber and Grant Watson

For more information…

Cake Takes the DUFF

David Cake won DUFF (the Down Under Fan Fund) over Paula McGrath. On his third race to come from Down under to North America, Cake received 80 votes to McGrath’s 57. A total of 148 votes were cast, with the remaining split between “No Preference,” “Hold Over,” and “None of the Above.” Cake will travel to North America to attend Renovation, this year’s Worldcon.

Aurealis Winners

The winners for this year’s Aurealis Awards, presented for excellence in Australian speculative fiction, have been announced. The awards were presented on May 21 at a ceremony held at the Independent Theatre in Sydney.

  • Children’s Fiction (told primarily through words): The Keepers, by Lian Tanner
  • Children’s Fiction (told primarily through pictures): The Boy and the Toy, by Sonya Hartnett (writer) & Lucia Masciullo (illustrator)
  • Young Adult Short Story: “A Thousand Flowers, Margo Lanagan, Zombies Vs Unicorns, Allen & Unwin
  • Young Adult Novel: Guardian of the Dead, by Karen Healey
  • Best Illustrated Book/Graphic Novel: Changing Ways Book 1, by Justin Randall
  • Best Collection: The Girl With No Hands, by Angela Slatter
  • Best Anthology: Wings of Fire, edited by Jonathan Strahan & Marianne S. Jablon
  • Horror Short Story:”The Fear,” by Richard Harland
  • Horror Novel: Madigan Mine, by Kirstyn McDermott
  • Fantasy Short Story: “The February Dragon,” by LL Hannett & Angela Slatter
  • Fantasy Novel: Power and Majesty, by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • Science Fiction Short Story: “The Heart of a Mouse,” by K.J. Bishop
  • Science Fiction Novel: Transformation Space, by Marianne de Pierres

For more information…

Other Australian Awards

In addition to the Ditmar Awards, the Australian national award, several other Australian awards were presented during the Ditmar ceremony at Swancon 36. They include:

  • A. Bertram Chandler Award: Paul Collins
  • Norma K. Hemming: Diamond Eyes, by Anita A. Bell
  • Peter McNamara Award: Lucy Sussex
  • William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review: Tansy Rayner Roberts for A Modern Woman’s Guide to Classic Who

The A. Bertram Chandler Award is presented for outstanding achievement in Australian science fiction.
The Norma K. Hemming Award is presented for excellence in the exploration of themes of race, gender, class and sexuality. This is the first time this award has been presented.
The Peter McNamara Award is presented to a professional in the field of Australian science fiction.
The William Atheling Jr. Award is presented for criticism and reviews.

Ditmar Awards

The Ditmar Awards were presented at Swancon during the weekend of April 22-24. The Ditmars are selected by Australian fans.

  • Best Novel: Power and Majesty, by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • Best Novella or Novelette: “The Company Articles of Edward Teach,” by Thoraiya Dyer
  • Best Short Story: (tie) “All the Love in the World,” by Cat Sparks; “She Said,” by Kirstyn McDermott
  • Best Collected Work: Sprawl, by Alisa Krasnostein
  • Best Artwork: The Lost Thing, by Andrew Ruhemann and Shaun Tan
  • Best Fan Writer: Alexandra Pierce for body of work including reviews at Australian Speculative Fiction in Focus
  • Best Fan Artist: Amanda Rainey for Swancon 36 logo
  • Best Fan Publication in Any Medium: Galactic Suburbia, podcast by Alisa Krasnostein, Tansy Rayner Roberts, and Alex Pierce
  • Best Achievement: Alisa Krasnostein, Kathryn Linge, Rachel Holkner, Alexandra Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts, and Tehani Wessely for Snapshot 2010
  • Best New Talent: Thoraiya Dyer

Australian Shadow Award Winners

The Australian Horror Writers Association has announced the winners of the 2010 Australian Shadow Awards. The award is presented for overall effect – the skill, delivery, and lasting resonance – of horror fiction written or edited by an Australian. Beginning in 2011, the three existing categories will be joined by awards for novel and collections.

  • Long Fiction winner: Under Stones, by Bob Franklin
  • Edited Publication winner: Macabre: A Journey through Australia’s Darkest Fears, edited by Angela Challis & Marty Young
  • Short Fiction winner: “She Said,” by Kirstyn McDermott

For more information…