SMOFCon Scholarships from CANSMOF

CANSMOF has announced that Jean-Louis Trudel (Québec City, Canada) and Jared Dashoff (Washington, DC) are the recipients of this year’s SMOFCon scholarships. Both recipients will receive aid to attend this year’s SMOFCon in Manhattan Beach, CA and are required to write a report about the event for CANSMOF.

CUFF Resignation

Travers Milo, who won the Canadian Unity Fan Fund (CUFF) in an unopposed race, was unable to attend VCon as part of his CUFF duties, has now resigned as fund administrator, citing previous volunteer and personal commitments. Former CUFF winner Debra Yeung has agreed to pick up the administrator duties until a new successor can be selected.

Faned Awards

The winners for R. Graeme Cameron’s Faned Awards for Canadian fandom have been announced. This year, Cameron expanded the voting pool.

  • Best Writer: Taral Wayne
  • Best LOC Writer: Brad Foster
  • Best Artist: Brad Foster
  • Best Canadian Fanzine: Broken Toys, editor Taral Wayne
  • Faned Hall of Fame: Fred Hurter Jr., editor of Censored from June 1941 to 1951, a fanzine noted for its high quality silkscreen covers and wide-ranging variety of content. Surpassed Light and inspired the creation of the fanzine Canadian Fandom.

Obituary: Ann Methe

Canadian fan Ann Methe died on October 5 following a battle with cancer. Methe was a Canadian con-runner who chaired Con*Cept Boreal in 1998 and won the Aurora Award for fannish achievement in 1999, as well as being nominated for the award in 1998 and 2000. She was married to artist Jean-Pierre Normand.

Aurora Award Winners

The 2014 Aurora Awards were announced at V-Con in Vancouver the weekend of October 3-5.

  • Best English Novel: A Turn of Light, by Julie E. Czerneda
  • Best English YA (Young Adult) Novel: The Rising, by Kelley Armstrong
  • Best English Short Fiction: “Ghost in the Machine,” by Ryan McFadden
  • Best English Poem/Song: “Night Journey: West Coast,” by Kernaghan, Eileen
  • Best English Graphic Novel: Rock, Paper, Cynic, by Peter Chiykowski
  • Best English Related Work: On Spec, published by the Copper Pig Writers’ Society
  • Best Artist: Erik Mohr, cover art for ChiZine Publications
  • Best Fan Music: Chris Hadfield for his performance of “Space Oddity”
  • Best Fan Organizational: Randy McCharles, chair When Words Collide, Calgary
  • Best Fan Related Work: Robert Runté, ”Why I Read Canadian Speculative Fiction: The Social Dimension of Reading,” Scholar Keynote Address at ACCSFF ’13, Toronto

For more info

Sunburst Awards Add Category

The Sunburst Awards, in conjunction with Chizine have announced the addition of the short fiction award to the Sunburst Awards beginning in 2015. The Sunburst Awards will with with Chizine Press to identify stories eligible for consideration by the Sunburst Award jury. The first short story award winner will be announced in the fall of 2015 and will receive a prize of CAD $500 and a medallion which incorporates a specially designed Sunburst logo.

For more information…

Sunburst Winners

The 2014 Sunburst Award winners have been announced. The Sunburst Award for Canadian Literature of the Fantastic is a juried award given to a Canadian writer for a book length work of SF. The prize comes with a hand-crafted medallion and Can$1,000. The jurors for the 2014 award are Camille Alexa, Paul Glennon, Bob Knowlton, Nicole Luiken, and Derek Newman-Stille.

  • Sunburst Award: A Tale for the Time Being, by Ruth Ozeki
  • Sunburst Young Adult Award: The Cats of Tanglewood Forest, by Charles de Lint

For more information…

Copper Cylinder Awards

The Sunburst Award Society has announced the winners of the Copper Cylinder Award, a popular vote award for the best Canadian fantastic literature. The award’s name comes from James de Mille’s “A Strange Manuscript Found in a Copper Cylinder,” widely considered to be the first work of Canadian science fiction.

  • Adult Award: River of Stars, by Guy Gavriel Kay
  • Young Adult Award: Homeland, by Cory Doctorow

For more information…

Canadian SF Hall of Fame

The first inductees into the Canadian SF Hall of Fame have been announced. They include the six winners of the Aurora Award Lifetime Achievement Award as well as three additional names selected by a jury. Their induction will occur at the Aurora Awards Ceremony at VCON 39 on October 4.

  • William Gibson
  • Phyllis Gotlieb (Lifetime Achievement)
  • Judith Merril (Lifetime Achievement)
  • Dennis Mullin (Lifetime Achievement)
  • Jeanne Robinson
  • Spider Robinson
  • Robert J. Sawyer (Lifetime Achievement)
  • A.E. van Vogt (Lifetime Achievement)
  • Susan Wood (Lifetime Achievement)

For more information…

ETA: (corrected some misspellings, and identified Dennis Mullin as a previous Lifetime Achievement honoree)

Canadian Faned Awards Expansion

Canadian fan R. Graeme Cameron, who founded the Canadian Fanzine Fanac Society and began to present the Faned Awards for Canadian fanzines, has announced that he will accept votes from around the world instead of just Canada this year. According to Cameron, only 19 people voted last year, and since many LOCs and contributions to Canadian fanzines originate in other countries, it is clear that interest in Canadian fanzines is international.