Sawyer Receives Royal Medal

Robert J. Sawyer has been named a recipient of the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal. The Medal was established to mark the 2012 celebrations of the 60th anniversary of Queen Elizabeth II’s accession. Recipients must have been alive on the Queen’s jubilee date, be a Canadian citizen, and have made a significant contribution to a particular province, territory, region or community within Canada, or an achievement abroad that brings credit to Canada.

For more information…

Van Vogt Winner Announced

The winner of the inaugural A.E. van Vogt Award has been announced. Brian J. Clarke will receive the Can$1200 prize and certificate for his novel Alphanauts. The award is sponsored by the Winnipeg Science Fiction Association and is presented for first-edition full length science fiction novel or full-length science fiction short story anthology, written by an author linked to Western Canada by birth or residency. The van Vogt Awards expect to launch a website for the award in the near future.

A.E. van Vogt Finalists

The finalists for the A.E. van Vogt Award, sponsored by the Winnipeg Science Fiction Association (WINSFA), ConAdian, the 1994 World SF Con, and Science Fiction Winnipeg (SFW) have been announced. The winner will receive a $1200 prize and a certificate. The award was named in honor of Canadian author and Grand Master A.E. van Vogt, who was born in 1912. Originally, the winners were slated to be announced in Winnipeg in September.

  • Lady of Mazes, by Karl Schroeder
  • Alphanauts, by Brian J. Clarke
  • The Other, by Matthew Hughes

Sunburst Winners

The 2012 Sunburst Award winners have been announced. The Sunburst Award for Canadian Literature of the Fantastic is a juried award given to a Canadian writer for a book length work of SF. The prize comes with a hand-crafted medallion and Can$1,000.

  • Sunburst Award: Paradise Tales, by Geoff Ryman
  • Sunburst Young Adult Award: All Good Children, by Catherine Austen

For more information…

Copper Cylinder Bestowed

Jo Walton and Lesley Livingstone have received the first Copper Cylinder Awards from the Sunburst Award Society. The Copper Cylinder Award is a member’s choice award selected by members of the Sunburst Award Society for books published during the previous year. The title comes from the first Canadian speculative fiction story, “A Strange Manuscript Found in a Copper Cylinder,” by James De Mille and the prize includes a trophy shaped like a copper cylinder.

  • Copper Cylinder Adult Award: Among Others, by Jo Walton
  • Copper Cylinder Young Adult Award: Once Every Never, by Lesley Livingstone

For more information…

SMOFCon Scholarships from CANSMOF

CANSMOF has announced that Danielle MacDonald (Ontario, Canada) and James Shields (County Meath, Ireland) are the receipients of this year’s SMOFCon scholarships. Both recipients will receive aid to attend this year’s SMOFCon in Philadelphia, PA and are required to write a report about the event for CANSMOF.

For more information…

ChiZine Announces Teen Imprint

ChiZine Publications has announced a new imprint focusing on Young Adult fiction. ChiTeen will launch in the Spring of 2014 with The Unlikely But Totally True Adventures of Floating Boy and Anxiety Girl, by Paul Tremblay and Stephen Graham Jones. ChiTeen will offer the same dark and weird stories as the works ChiZine has previously published, but with subject matter more suited for a younger audience.

For more information…

Montreal Joins 2017 Race

A group of fans have announced that they will bid to host the Worldcon in 2017 in Montreal, Canada. Japan has already announced a bid for that year. The last Japanese Worldcon was Nippon in 2007. The last Montreal Worldcon was Anticipation in 2009.

Aurora Awards

The English language Aurora Awards were presented at Canvention 32 the weekend of August 10. The Aurora Awards are presented for both English and French language works in Canada.

  • Best Novel – English: Wonder, by Robert J. Sawyer
  • Best Short Fiction – English: “The Needle’s Eye,” by Suzanne Church
  • Best Poem / Song – English: “Skeleton Leaves,” by Helen Marshall
  • Best Graphic Novel – English: Goblins, created by Tarol Hunt
  • Best Related Work – English: On Spec, published by the Copper Pig Writers’ Society
  • Best Artist: Dan O’Driscoll
  • Best Fan Publication: Bourbon and Eggnog, by Eileen Bell, Ryan McFadden, Billie Milholland, and Randy McCharles
  • Best Fan Filk: Phil Mills, Body of Song-Writing Work including FAWM and 50/90
  • Best Fan Organizational: Randy McCharles, founder and chair of When Words Collide
  • Best Fan Other: Peter Watts, “Reality: The Ultimate Mythology” lecture

For more information…

World Fantasy Award Nominations

The nominations for the World Fantasy Awards have been announced. The prizes will be presented at a banquet at World Fantasy Con, scheduled to be held in Toronto, Canada on November 4.


  • Those Across the River, by Christopher Buehlman
  • 11/22/63, by Stephen King
  • A Dance with Dragons, by George R.R. Martin
  • Osama, by Lavie Tidhar
  • Among Others, by Jo Walton


  • “Near Zennor,” by Elizabeth Hand
  • “A Small Price to Pay for Birdsong,” by K.J. Parker
  • “Alice Through the Plastic Sheet,” by Robert Shearman
  • “Rose Street Attractors,” by Lucius Shepard
  • Silently and Very Fast, by Catherynne M. Valente

Short Story:

  • “X for Demetrious,” by Steve Duffy
  • “Younger Women,” by Karen Joy Fowler
  • “The Paper Menagerie,” by Ken Liu
  • “A Journey of Only Two Paces,” by Tim Powers
  • “The Cartographer Wasps and the Anarchist Bees,” by E. Lily Yu


  • Blood and Other Cravings, edited by Ellen Datlow
  • A Book of Horrors, edited by Stephen Jones
  • The Thackery T. Lambshead Cabinet of Curiosities, edited by Ann & Jeff VanderMeer
  • The Weird, edited by Ann & Jeff VanderMeer
  • Gutshot, edited by Conrad Williams


  • Bluegrass Symphony, by Lisa L. Hannett
  • Two Worlds and In Between, by Caitlín R. Kiernan
  • After the Apocalypse, by Maureen F. McHugh
  • Mrs Midnight and Other Stories, by Reggie Oliver
  • The Bible Repairman and Other Stories, by Tim Powers


  • John Coulthart
  • Julie Dillon
  • Jon Foster
  • Kathleen Jennings
  • John Picacio

Special Award Professional:

  • John Joseph Adams, for editing – anthology and magazine
  • Jo Fletcher, for editing – Jo Fletcher Books
  • Eric Lane, for publishing in translation – Dedalus books
  • Brett Alexander Savory & Sandra Kasturi, for ChiZine Publications
  • Jeff VanderMeer & S.J. Chambers, for The Steampunk Bible

Special Award Non-Professional:

  • Kate Baker, Neil Clarke, Cheryl Morgan & Sean Wallace, for Clarkesworld
  • Cat Rambo, for Fantasy
  • Raymond Russell & Rosalie Parker, for Tartarus Press
  • Charles Tan, for Bibliophile Stalker blog
  • Mark Valentine, for Wormwood

Lifetime Achievement winners:

  • Alan Garner
  • George R.R. Martin

For more information…