Campbell and Sturgeon Awards

The winners of the Campbell and Sturgeon Awards were announced on June 16 at the Campbell Conference in Lawrence Kansas. Both are juried awards, with the Campbell being presented for the Best SF Novel and the Sturgeon for Best Short Story.

  • Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award: “The Future is Blue,” by Catherynne M. Valente
  • John W. Campbell Memorial Award: Central Station, by Lavie Tidhar

For more information…

Eugie Award Winner

“The Long Goodnight of Violet Wild” by Catherynne M. Valente was announced as the winner of the first Eugie Award. The award is presented for a story that is irreplaceable, that inspires, enlightens, and entertains. It is named for Nebula Award winning author Eugie Foster and the winner was announced at Dragon Con, which Foster worked on.

For more information…

Valente Resignation

Catherynne Valente announced her resignation as the SFWA Eastern Regional Director on July 5. Valente explained that “personal circumstances have brought [her] to the realization that [she] cannot serve out the remainder of [her] term effectively.” New President Steven Gould has appointed E.C. Myers to complete Valente’s term in office. Valente has stated that she intends to remain active in the organization.