Wellman Award

The North Carolina Speculative Fiction Foundation announced the winner of the second Manly Wade Wellman Award at ConGregate on July 11. The award recognizes outstanding works of speculative fiction by North Carolina authors and is voted on by members of North Carolina SF cons. This is the second year Mur Lafferty has won, this time for her novel Ghost Train To New Orleans. She has recused herself from consideration for next year.

For more information…

Manly Wade Wellman Nominations

The nominees for the 2015 Manly Wade Wellman Award have been announced. The award is sponsored by the North Carolina Speculative Fiction Foundation and recognizes excellence in SFF written by North Carolina authors. Any member of illogiCon, ConCarolinas, ConTemporal, or ConGregate are eligible to vote.

  • The Sea Without a Shore, by David Drake
  • Hamlet, Prince of Denmark by A.J. Hartley and David Hewson
  • Ghost Train to New Orleans by Mur Lafferty
  • Reign of Ash by Gail Z. Martin
  • Bad Wizard by James Maxey

For more information…

Singular Effect Cornerstone Award

The Singularity Effect has announced the winner of its first Cornerstone Award, presented by a group of fans from the Carolinas to honor and acknowledge the achievements and contributions of other Carolina fans. The first award is presented to Jeff Smith, founder and organizer of the Mid-Atlantic Convention Expo (MACE). Smith has also worked on StellarCon, and running other conventions including Roc of Ages and BabTrek. The award will be presented at ConCarolinas in Charlotte during the weekend of June 3-5.

The Singularity Effect consists of Everette Beach, Paul Cory, James & Tera Fulbright, Laura Haywood Cory, Mill Mann, and Ron and Stephanie McClung.