Edge Hill Award Shortlist

The shortlist of the 2016 Edge Hill Prize has been announced. The award is given for excellence in a published short story collection. The main prize is £10,000, with an additional £1,000 Readers’ Prize, and a category worth £500 recognizing rising talents on Edge Hill University’s own MA Creative Writing course.

  • Three Moments of an Explosion, by China Miéville
  • Don’t Try This at Home, by Angela Readman
  • An Account of the Decline of the Great Auk, According to the One Who Saw It, by Jessie Greengrass
  • The Not-Dead and the Saved, by Kate Clanchy
  • Your Father Sends his Love, by Stuart Evers
  • We Don’t Know What We’re Doing, by Thomas Morris

For more information…

Edge Hill Short Story Prize

Chris Beckett’s collection The Turing Test won the 2009 Edge Hill Short Story Prize, presented annually for best single-author story collection published in the United Kingdom. The award, which is not a genre specific award, carries with it a £5,000 prize and a painting by Liverpool artist Peter Clarke. Beckett received an additional £1,000 as the Reader’s Prize, given in conjunction with the award.

For more information…