Awards at Loncon 3

During the Retro Hugo Ceremony, several other awards were presented.

  • The First Fandom Hall of Fame Award: John Clute
  • First Fandom Posthumous Hall of Fame Awards: John “Ted” Carnell and Walter H. Gillings
  • The Sam Moskowitz Archive Awards: Mike Ashley
  • The Forrest J Ackerman Big Heart Award: Vincent Docherty

For more information…

First Fandom Awards

The First Fandom Awards were Presented at LoneStarCon 3 during the Hugo Award Ceremony on September 1. Erle Korshak and Dave Kyle made the presentation.

First Fandom Hall of Fame

  • Sam Basham
  • Earl Kemp
  • Lester Mayer
  • Norman F. Stanley

First Fandom Posthumous Hall of Fame

  • Thaddeus E. Dikty (T.E. Dikty)
  • Raymond A. Palmer

Sam Moskowitz Archive Award for Excellence in Collecting

  • Howard Frank

First Fandom Nominees

Members of First Fandom have until June 1 to vote on the inductees into the Hall of Fame. First Fandom was founded in 1959 to connect those who had been in fandom prior to 1938. Its membership has since expanded with various classes of member. The Sam Moskowitz Award is presented for excellence in science fiction collecting. The winners will be announced at Chicon 7.

First Fandom Hall of Fame Award

  • Ray Bradbury
  • Larry Farsace
  • Claude Held
  • Jack Robins

First Fandom Posthumous Hall of Fame Award

  • Rusty Hevelin

Sam Moskowitz Archive Award

  • Donn Albright

For more information…

Obituary: Rusty Hevelin

Fan James “Rusty” Hevelin (b.1922) died on December 27. Hevelin became active in fandom in the 1930s, publishing the apazine H-1661. He attended Denvention 1 before joining the army and serving in the South Pacific during World War II. Returning to fandom, Hevelin became a huckster and frequent con attendee, serving as a guest of honor at numerous cons, including Denvention 2, the 1981 Worldcon. He received the First Fandom Sam Mosckowitz Archive Award for collections and the Big Heart Award. Hevelin was a founder of Pulpcon.

First Fandom Nominees

The nominees for this year’s first fandom hall of fame have been announced by Joan Marie Knappenberger. The award is presented for contributions to the field of science fiction dating back more than 30 years. The Sam Moskowitz Award is presented for excellence in science fiction collecting.

Hall of Fame Award

  • Jay Kay Klein
  • Ray Bradbury
  • Keith Stokes

Posthumous Hall of Fame Award

  • Oliver Saari

Sam Moskowitz Archive Award

  • Ray Palmer
  • Hannes Bok
  • William Hamling
  • Stephen D. Korshak

For more information…

Obituary: Terry Jeeves

Fan artist Terry Jeeves died on May 29. Jeeves was a founder of the British Science Fiction Association and served as editor of its ‘zine, Vector. He also published his own fanzine, Erg for more than forty years and was the co-editor of Triode with Eric Bentcliffe. Jeeves won the Doc Weir Award for service to British fandom , the Rotsler Award, and in 2010 was inducted into the First Fandom Hall of Fame. In 2010, Thomas Sadler published Wartime Daze, a fanzine tribute to Jeeves that included numerous articles and art by Jeeves.

First Fandom Awards

First Fandom announced its Hall of Fame Awards at Aussiecon 4. First Fandom is a group of fans active prior to the first Worldcon, although there are membership levels for those who joined later and are interested in fanhistory.

  • First Fandom Hall of Fame: (tie) Terry Jeeves and Joe Martino
  • Posthumous Hall of Fame: Ray Cummings

For more information…

First Fandom Awards

The First Fandom Awards were presented at Anticipation to honor those with long-standing in the fannish community.

  • Hall of Fame Award: James Gunn and Ben Indick
  • Posthumous Hall of Fame Award: Walt Daugherty
  • Sam Moskowitz Award for Excellence in Collecting: Joe Wroz

For more information…