Landis Receives Heinlein

Scientist and science fiction author Geoffrey A. Landis will receive the 2014 Robert A. Heinlein Award. The award recognizes outstanding works in science fiction and technical writings that inspire the human exploration of space. In addition to publishing numerous short stories and novels, Landis works for NASA and has been involved with the Martian rover project. The award will be presented on May 23, 2014 at opening ceremonies during Balticon 48.

For more information…

Sturgeon and Campbell Winners

The winners of the Campbell and Sturgeon Awards have been announced. Both are juried awards, with the Campbell being presented for the Best SF Novel and the Sturgeon for Best Short Story. The presentation was held during the Campbell Conference at Lawrence, Kansas.

  • John W. Campbell Award: The Dervish House, by Ian McDonald
  • Theodore Sturgeon Award: “The Sultan of the Clouds,” by Geoffrey A. Landis

For more information…