Obituary: Wolfgang Jeschke

German author Wolfgang Jeschke (b.1936) died on June 10. Jeschke discovered German science fiction fandom in the 1950s and in 1955 became one of the first members of Science Fiction Club Deutschland. His early stories were published in fanzines, but he eventually went on to work in publishing as an editor as well as write his own novels, including Der letzte Tag der Schöpfung and Midas oder Die Auferstehung des Fleisches. Jeschke was one of the Pro Guests of Honor at ConFiction, the 1990 Worldcon held in The Hague.

Deutscher Phantastik Preis Winners

The winners of the Deutscher Phantastik Preis Awards were announced October 12 at BuchmesseCon in Dreieich, Germany.

  • Best Novel in German: Phoenix – Tochter der Asche, by Ann-Kathrin Karschnick
  • Best Debut Novel in German: Eldorin – Das verborgene Land, by Gaby Wohlrab
  • Best International Novel: Dunkle Halunken, by Terry Pratchett (Dodger)
  • Best German Short Story: “Claire,” by Miriam Schäfer
  • Best Anthology/Collection: Eis und Dampf, edited by Christian Vogt
  • Best Book Series; DSA – Das schwarze Auge
  • Best Graphic Artist: Mia Steingräber
  • Best Work on Secondary Literature: Geek! magazine
  • Best Website:

For more information (German)

Curt Siodmak Award

The Curt Siodmak Award for science fiction films and television in German was presented on August 15.

  • Best Science Fiction Film: Gravity
  • Best Science Fiction Television: Doctor Who

For more information…

Deutscher Science Fiction Preis Winners

The SFCD has announced the winners of the 2014 Deutscher Science Fiction Preis. The winners are selected by a jury and prizes are given for best short story and best novel written in German language. The winners will each receive €1000. The award ceremony will be held in July during SchlossCon 2 in Schwerin, Germany.

  • Best German-language Short Story: “Seitwärts in die Zeit,” by by Axel Kruse
  • Best German-language Novel: Dschiheads, by Wolfgang Heschke

For more information (in German)

Kurd Laßwitz Winners

The winners for this year’s Kurd Laßwitz award for science fiction published in Germany were announced.

  • Best Novel: Dschiheads, by Wolfgang Jeschke
  • Best Short Story: “Coen Sloterdykes Diametral Levitierendes Chronoversum,” by Michael Marrak
  • Best Foreign work: “In Einer Anderen Welt,” by Jo Walton (Among Others)
  • Best Translation: Margo Jane Warnken for translating: Julie Phillips’s James Tiptree Jr. – Das Doppelleben der Alice B. Sheldon (James Tiptree, Jr.: The Double Life of Alice B. Sheldon)
  • Best German SF Graphical Art 2013: Pierangelo Boog for the cover of Exodus 30
  • Special Prize for Achievement over the Years: Martin Kempf and his team of Fandom Observer for publishing 300 issues in 25 years

For more information… (in German)

Kurd Laßwitz Winners

The winners for this year’s Kurd Laßwitz award for science fiction published in Germany were announced on June 16.

  • Best Novel: Pulsarnacht, by Dietmar Dath
  • Best Short Story: “Im Käfig,” by Klaus N. Frick
  • Best Foreign work: “Die Hölle ist die Abwesenheit Gottes,” by Ted Chiang (“Hell is the Absence of God”)
  • Best Translation: Birgit Herden, Dorothea Kallfass, and Hannes Riffel for translating: Paolo Bacigalupi’s “Der Spieler” “The Player”
  • Best Illustration: artwork appearing by Moreau, by Thomas Franke
  • Best Radioplay: Unerwartete Ereignisse, by Heinz von Cramer
  • Special Prize for Achievement in 2012: Ralf Boldt and Wolfgang Jeschke for being anthologist of Die Stille nach dem Ton
  • Special Prize for Achievement over the Years: Ernst Wurdack for supporting German science-fiction and new talents as a publisher by publishing anthologies and story collections.

For more information…

Kurd Laßwitz Nominees

The Nominees for this year’s Kurd Laßwitz award for science fiction published in Germany have been announced.

Best Novel

  • Der Lamo-Kodex, by Stefan Blankertz
  • Kinder der Ewigkeit, by Andreas Brandhorst
  • Yardang, by Marcus Hammerschmitt
  • Walpar Tonnraffir und der Zeigefinger, by Uwe Post
  • Korona, by Thomas Thiemeyer
  • Plasmawelt, by Michael Marcus Thurner

Best Short Story

  • Finja-Danielas Totenwache,” by Nadine Boos
  • Lod, Lad, Chine,” by Andreas Flögel
  • Die Schwelle,” by Michael K. Iwoleit
  • Kamele, Kuckucksuhren un Bienen,” by Heidrun Jänchen
  • Ende der Jagdsaison auf Orange,” by Karsten Kruschel
  • Die verhinderte Himmelfahrt der Jana Maria Magdalena Sibelius,” by Niklas Peinecke
  • Lebenslichter,” by Karla Schmidt

Best Foreign Novel

  • Transition, by Iain Banks
  • War of the Marionettes, by Adam-Troy Castro
  • Little Brother, by Cory Doctorow
  • The Tomorrow Code, by Brian Falkner
  • The City and the City, by Chine Miéville
  • Sun of Suns, by Karl Schroeder

Best Translation

    Eva Bauche-Eppers, for The City and the City

  • Juliane Gräbener-Müller & Nikolaus Stingl, for Anathem
  • Uwe-Michael Gutzschhahn, for Little Brother
  • Bernhard Kempen, for Metatropolis
  • Usch Kiausch, for Halting State
  • Stephanie Pannen, for Gods of Night

Best Illustration

  • Arndt Dreschsler, for the cover of Tschirque der Kreuzwächter
  • Jacek Kaczynski, for the cover of Die Audienz
  • Timo Kümmel, for the cover of Die Ankunft
  • David Fincher
  • Crossvalley Smith, for the cover of Exodus 27

Special Prize

  • Robert N. Bloch, for Bibliographie der utopischen und phantastischen Literatur 1750-1950
  • René Moreau, Heinz Wipperfürth, and Olaf Kemmler, for Exodus Magazine
  • Dieter von Reeken, for reprinting the fantastic stories of Oskar Hoffmann and for their continuing work to publish Kurd Laßwitz.
  • Ernst Wurdack, Heidrun Jänchen, Armin Rößler, and Dieter Schmitt, for publishing activity

For more information… (German)

Kurd Laßwitz Prize Winners

The winners of the Kurd Laßwitz Prize presented for German science fiction, have been announced.

  • Best Novel: Ein König für Deutschland, by Andreas Eschbach
  • Best Short Story: “Das Klassentreffen der Weserwinzer,” by Ernst Eberhard Manski
  • Best Foreign Novel: The Android’s Dream, by John Scalzi
  • Best Translation: Ulrich Blumenbach, for the translation of David Foster Wallace’s Infinite Jest
  • Best Illustration: Franz Vohwinkel for the cover art to Stephen Hunt’s The Court of the Air
  • Special Prize: Guido Latz

For more information…