James White Judges Announced

The judges for the 2012 James White Award have been announced. This year’s panel will include Aliette de Bodard, Andy Cox, Andrew Hedgecock, and Ian McDonald. Cox and Hedgecock are the publishers of Interzone, which publishes the winning story each year and McDonald was one of the award’s first judges, returning for a second stint. The James White Award is an annual short story competition open to non-professional authors. This year’s deadline is December 16.

For more information…

James White Award Winner

The winner of the James White Award has been announced. This year, in addition to a winner, who will receive £200 and publication in a future issue of Interzone, the judges awarded a special commendation. This year’s judges included Jon Courtenay Grimwood, Juliet E. McKenna, Andy Cox, and Andrew Hedgecock.

  • James White Award Winner: “Invocation of the Lurker,” by Colum Paget
  • Special Commendation: “Train in Vain,” by Tori Truslow

For more information…

James White Award Panel

The James White Award is currently open to submissions of original stories by non-professional authors. The deadline for this year’s competition is midnight on 31 January 2012. The winner will be announced at the BSFA Award Ceremony at Eastercon 2012. The winning author will receive £200 plus publication in Interzone. Visit for more information. This year’s judges include Jon Courtenay Grimwood, Juliet E. McKenna, and Andy Cox.

For more information…