Barjavel and Planète SF Prix Awarded

The Barjavel Prix and Planète SF Prix were presented at the 2018 Intergalactiques Festival of Lyon. The Barjavel Prix is for a previously unpublished short story and the Planète SF Prix is given for a work in translation. The winner of the Barjavel Prix will be published in electronic format by Actusf.

  • “La Coupole,” by Céline Maltère
  • Planète SF Prix: Nos vrais enfants (My Real Children), by Jo Walton, translated by Florence Dolishi

For more information…

Skylark Award

At Boskone 54, the weekend of February 18-20, this year’s recipient of the Skylark award was announced. The Skylark Award is presented for significant contributions through work in the field of science fiction and by exemplifying the personal qualities which made the late “Doc” Smith well-loved by those who knew him. This year’s award was won by Jo Walton.
For more information…

Tiptree Winners

The James Tiptree, Jr. Literary Award Council has announced the winners of the 2014 Tiptree Award. The Award is presented for works of speculative fiction that address gender issues. The winners will be honored at Wiscon the weekend of May 22-25 and will receive $1,000, a piece of artwork, and chocolate.

  • The Girl in the Road, by Monica Byrne
  • My Real Children, by Jo Walton

For more information and the short list…

Copper Cylinder Bestowed

Jo Walton and Lesley Livingstone have received the first Copper Cylinder Awards from the Sunburst Award Society. The Copper Cylinder Award is a member’s choice award selected by members of the Sunburst Award Society for books published during the previous year. The title comes from the first Canadian speculative fiction story, “A Strange Manuscript Found in a Copper Cylinder,” by James De Mille and the prize includes a trophy shaped like a copper cylinder.

  • Copper Cylinder Adult Award: Among Others, by Jo Walton
  • Copper Cylinder Young Adult Award: Once Every Never, by Lesley Livingstone

For more information…

Romantic Times Reviewers Choice Winners

The Romantic Times has announced the winners of its Reviewers’ Choice Awards. The winners of sf genre interest are listed below. Currently, I have not found a complete list of winners, but will add titles in the various Paranormal categories as I find them.

  • Best Science Fiction Novel: Half a Crown, by Jo Walton
  • Best Fantasy Novel: The House of the Stag, by Kage Baker
  • Best Epic Fantasy Novel: The Hero of Ages, by Brandon Sanderson

For more information…