SF Hall of Fame Inductees

This year’s inductees into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame have been announced. The Hall of Fame is now part of the Icons of Science Fiction exhibit at the Experience Music Project Museum.

  • Davie Bowie
  • H.R. Giger
  • Judith Merril
  • Joanna Russ
  • J.R.R. Tolkien

For more information…

Obituary: Joanna Russ

Author Joanna Russ (b.1937) died on April 29 following a series of strokes. Russ was the author of the groundbreaking novel The Female Man and Picnic on Paradise. In addition to writing fiction, Russ wrote numerous non-fiction works, including the feminist study What Are We Fighting For?. Russ won a Hugo Award for her novella “Souls” and a Nebula and retro-Tiptree for her short story “When It Changed.” The Female Man was also award a retro-Tiptree and a Gaylactic Spectrum Hall of Fame Award.

Joanna Russ in Hospice

Samuel R. Delany via Ron Drummond reports that Joanna Russ, the author of The Female Man and What Are We Fighting For?: Sex, Race, Class, and the Future of Feminism, among many other works of science fiction and scholarship, has been admitted to hospice after suffering a series of strokes. According to Drummond, Delany says that Russ is “slipping away” and has long had a “Do Not Resuscitate” on file.