Sturgeon and Campbell Nominees

The nominations for this year’s Theodore Sturgeon Award and John W. Campbell, Jr. Memorial Award have been announced. Both awards will be presented at the Campbell Conference, scheduled for the weekend of July 7-10 in Lawrence, KS. This year’s Sturgeon jury includes James Gunn, Kij Johnson, Frederik Pohl, Noel Sturgeon, and George Zebrowski. The Campbell jury is made up of Gregory Benford, Paul Di Filippo, Sheila Finch, James Gunn, Elizabeth Anne Hull, Paul Kincaid, Christopher McKitterick, Pamela Sargent, and T.A. Shippey.

Sturgeon Nominees

  • “Mammoths of the Great Plains,” by Eleanor Arnason
  • “Under the Moons of Venus,” by Damien Broderick
  • “The Maiden Flight of McAuley’s Bellerophon,” by Elizabeth Hand
  • “The Sultan of the Clouds,” by Geoffrey A. Landis
  • “Flower, Mercy, Needle, Chain,” by Yoon Ha Lee
  • “Ghosts Doing the Orange Dance,” by Paul Park
  • “Dead Man’s Run,” by Robert Reed
  • “Troika,” by Alastair Reynolds
  • “A Letter from the Emperor,” by Steve Rasnic Tem
  • “The Night Train,” by Lavie Tidhar
  • “The Things,” by Peter Watts

Campbell Memorial Nominees

  • Yarn, by Jon Armstrong
  • Hull Zero Three, by Greg Bear
  • Zero History, by William Gibson
  • C, by Tom McCarthy
  • The Dervish House, by Ian McDonald
  • New Model Army, by Adam Roberts
  • The Quantum Thief, by Jannu Rajaniemi
  • Veteran, by Gavin Smith
  • The Waters Rising, by Sheri S. Tepper
  • Aurorarama, by Jean-Christophe Valtat
  • Anthill, by E.O. Wilson
  • Blackout/All Clear, by Connie Willis
  • How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe, by Charles Yu

For more information…