Copper Cylinder Awards

The Sunburst Award Society has announced the winners of the Copper Cylinder Award, a popular vote award for the best Canadian fantastic literature. The award’s name comes from James de Mille’s “A Strange Manuscript Found in a Copper Cylinder,” widely considered to be the first work of Canadian science fiction.

  • Adult Award: Signal to Noise, by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
  • Young Adult Award: An Inheritance of Ashes, by Caitlin Sweet

For more information…

Sunburst Award Winners

The 2016 Sunburst Award winners have been announced. The Sunburst Award for Canadian Literature of the Fantastic is a juried award given to a Canadian writer for a book length work of SF. The prize comes with a hand-crafted medallion and Can$1,000. The jurors for the 2016 award were Timothy Anderson, Sylvia Bérard, Virginia O’Dine, Dale Sproule, and Myna Wallin.

  • Sunburst Award: Experimental Film, by Gemma Files
  • Sunburst Young Adult Award: An Inheritance of Ashes, by Leah Bobet
  • Sunburst Short Fiction Award: “Hide and Seek,” by Catherine MacLeod

For more information…