SFRA Winners

The winners of the SFRA Awards, presented annually by the Science Fiction Research Association, were announced at this year’s SFRA conference, June 27-30, in Liverpool, UK.

  • Pilgrim Award (for life time contributions to SF/F studies): Mark Bould
  • Pioneer Award (for outstanding essay-length work of the year): “‘Shutter-Stop Flash-Bulb Strange’: GMOs and the Aesthetics of Scale in Paolo Bacigalupi’s The Windup Girl,” by Scott Selisker
  • Thomas D. Clareson Award for Distinguished Service: Farah Mendlesohn
  • Mary Kay Bray Award (for the best essay, interview, or extended review in the past year’s SFRA Review): Amy Ransom
  • Student Essay Award (for best student paper presented at the previous year’s SFRA conference): Dagmar Van Engen

For more information…

Liverpool Literary Walk

The Liverpool Central Library in the UK will be incorporating a walkway listing book, movie, and album titles, a literary panel listing authors, and a series of quotations in its £50 million redevelopment plan. A panel of experts have released a potential listing of the inclusions and welcomes comments. Authors on the panel primarily of genre interest include Clive Barker, Ramsey Campbell, and Olaf Stapledon. Works on the walk of genre interest include Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, The Lord of the Rings, Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, Star Wars, The Mabinogion, The Chronicles of Narnia, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, The Wizard of Oz, and Peter Pan.

For more information…