Worldcon and NASFiC Candidates

LoneStarCon 3, the 71st World Science Fiction Convention, has announced the official bidders for the 2015 Worldcon and the 2014 NASFiC. All bidders have successfully turned in their paperwork. Members of LoneStarCon 3 will select the winners, who will be announced at the Sunday business meeting at the Worldcon. A NASFIC may be held in 2014 since the Worldcon will take place in London that year.

2015 Worldcon:

2014 NASFIC:

For more information…

Changes at LoneStarCon 3

Randy Shepherd has announced that effective immediately he will be assuming the position of Chair for LoneStarCon 3, this year’s Worldcon. The previous co-chairs, Laura Domitz and Bill Parker, will assume the duties of vice chairs. The change is an effort to streamline the Worldcon’s organization as they enter into their final six months of pre-con planning. LoneStarCon 3, the 71st World Science Fiction Convention, is scheduled to take place in San Antonio, TX from August 29-September 3.

For more information…

TAFF Underway

Theresa Derwin and Jim Mowatt have declared they are running for TAFF, to travel to the United States for LoneStarCon 3 in 2013. The official ballot is on-line and voting runs through April 19.

For more information…

Hugo Subcommittee Named

LoneStarCon 3 has announced the membership of the Hugo Subcommittee, Todd Dashoff, Vince Docherty, Saul Jaffe, Steven Staton, and Ben Yalow. Dashoff is also serving as the Hugo Award administrator. None of the members of the Hugo Subcommittee are eligible to be nominated for any category of the Hugo Award.

For more information…

LoneStarCon 3 Offers Military Discount

LoneStarCon 3, the 2013 Worldcon, has announced a discount membership rate for currently active military personnel or retired military with I.D. This rate is set at $110 and is not subject to future increases, either prior to the convention or at the door. LoneStarCon 3 will take place in San Antonio, TX from August 29 through September 2.

For more information…

Obituary: Darrell K. Sweet

Artist Darrell K. Sweet (1934) died on December 5. Sweet was scheduled to be the artist guest of honor at LoneStarCon 3, the 2013 Worldcon and had been honored as the artist guest of honor at Tuckercon, the 2007 NASFiC, in St. Louis and at the 2010 World Fantasy Con. Sweet’s art appeared on numerous book covers over the years and was known for having an extremely high sell through rate. Some of his art was collected in the book Beyond Fantasy.

Texas Wins Worldcon

Texas won the right to host the 71st World Science Fiction Convention in 2013. LoneStarCon 3 will be held in San Antonio, Texas from Aug. 29-Sept. 2. It will be sponsored by ALAMO. LoneStarCon 3 was elected with 694 votes out of 760 votes. Guests of Honor will be Ellen Datlow, James Gunn, Norman Spinrad, Darrel K. Sweet, and Willie Siros. Paul Cornell will serve as toastmaster.

For more information…