ALA Awards

Numerous awards are presented at the American Library Association Midwinter Meeting, which is taking place in Atlanta from January 20-24. Below are a sampling of some of the awards which have winners of genre interest. Clicking through on the link will provide a more complete listing of awards presented during the meeting.

John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature:

  • The Girl Who Drank the Moon, by Kelly Barnhill

Alex Awards for the 10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences:

  • The Queen of Blood, by Sarah Beth Durst
  • The Regional Office is Under Attack! , by Manuel Gonzales
  • In the Country We Love: My Family Divided, by Diane Guerrero with Michelle Burford
  • Buffering: Unshared Tales of a Life Fully Loaded, by Hannah Hart
  • Arena, by Holly Jennings
  • Every Heart a Doorway, by Seanan McGuire
  • Romeo and/or Juliet: A Choosable-Path Adventure, by Ryan North
  • Die Young with Me: A Memoir, by Rob Rufus
  • The Wasp that Brainwashed the Caterpillar, by Matt Simon
  • The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko, by Scott Stambach

Stonewall Book Award – Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award given annually to English-language children’s and young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience:

  • Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Hammer of Thor, by Rick Riordan
  • Unbecoming, by Jenny Downham

Pura Belpré Awards honoring a Latino writer and illustrator whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience:

  • Lowriders to the Center of the Earth, illustrated by Raúl Gonzalez, written by Cathy Camper and published

For more information…

Gaiman Takes Carnegie

Neil Gaiman has won the Carnegie Medal for his novel The Graveyard Book. The award was established in 1936 in memory of philanthropist Andrew Carnegie, and includes a prize of a gold medal and a donation of books to the library of Gaiman’s choice. The Graveyard Book is the first book ever to win both the Carnegie Medal and the Newbery Medal.

For more information…