Who Fears Death to HBO

Nnedi Okorafor has announced that her World Fantasy Award winning novel Who Fears Death has been optioned by HBO and has entered early production with George R.R. Martin listed as one of the Executive Producers.

African Literary Person of the Year

Nnedi Okorafor has been named the African Literary Person of the Year for the many ways Africa inspires her innovative story telling. The African Literary Person of Year Award celebrates the writer who has taken the lead in challenging and, in the process, expanding our assumptions about what it means to be an African writer and what it means to speak of a story as African.
For more information…

Detcon1 Accounced YA Author GoH

Detcon1, this year’s North American Science Fiction Convention (NASFIC), has announced Nnedi Okorafor as their Young Adult Author Guest of Honor. Okorafor debut novel, the YA book Zahrah the Windseeker won the Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature in Africa. Detcon1 will be putting a special focus on YA literature at the convention. In addition to having Ms. Okorafor as a guest, Detcon1 will also present two awards for YA and Middle Grade Speculative Fiction in a joint ceremony with the 2014 Golden Duck Awards.

For more information…

Black Excellence Awards Nominees

The African American Arts Alliance of Chicago has announced the nominees for the 12th Annual Black Excellence Awards. This year’s nominees includes a science fiction novel in the fiction category. The nominees for that category are listed below. A full slate of nominees can be found at the link provided.


  • Be Careful What You Pray For, by Kimberly Lawson Roby
  • Deceit and Devotion, by R.M. Johnson
  • Zahara-The Windseeker, by Nnedi Okorafor

For more information…