Climate Fiction Short Story Contest

Arizona State University’s College for Liberal Arts and Sciences is holding a contest for climate change fiction in conjunction with the Imagination and Climate Futures Initiative. The winner will receive $1000, with three runners up receiving book bundles signed by Paolo Bacigalupi. The contest will be judged by Kim Stanley Robinson. The contest is open to everyone.
For more information…

E-Book Bundle For Charity

Eight authors, including Cory Doctorow, Mercedes Lackey, Paolo Bacigalupi, Lauren Beukes, Kelly Link, John Scalzi, Neil Gaiman, and Dave McKean, are offering up a bundle of e-books. The books are available in DRM-Free versions for a donation which will go to the authors and a variety of charities. Six books by the first five authors are available to anyone making a donation. Two additional books by Scalzi and Gaiman & McKean are available to anyone who donates more than the average donation at the time of purchase. The titles included are Doctorow’s Pirate Cinema, Lackey’s Invasion, Bacigalupi’s Pump Six, Beukes’s Zoo City, and Link’s Stranger Things Happen and Magic for Beginners. The addition books are Scalzi’s Old Man’s War and Gaiman & McKean’s Signal to Noise. The charities being helped include the SFWA Emergency Medical Fund, the Electronic Frontier Foundation, and Child’s Play Charity.

For more information…

Campbell and Sturgeon Winners Announced

Although the Campbell Conference is not scheduled to take place until the weekend of July 16-18, the winners of the Campbell and Sturgeon Awards have been announced. Both are juried awards, with the Campbell being presented for the Best SF Novel and the Sturgeon for Best Short Story. The presentation will be held at Lawrence, Kansas. Both winning authors will attend the ceremony.

  • John W. Campbell Award: The Windup Girl, by Paolo Bacigalupi
  • Theodore Sturgeon Award: Shambling Towards Hiroshima, by James Morrow

For more information…

Compton Crook Winner

Paolo Bacigalupi won this year’s Compton Crook Award for best first novel for his book The Windup Girl, which also won the Nebula earlier this month. The award comes with a prize of $1,000 and the winner will be treated as a guest of honor for two consecutive Balticons.

For more information…