Pegasus Nominations

The Pegasus Award nominations have been announced by Erica Neely. The Pegasus Awards are given out for excellence in filk and are presented at OVFF the weekend of October 22 in Worthington, Ohio. Anyone with an interest in filk may vote for the awards.

Best Song

  • “Gabriel Gray’s Song,” by Batya Wittenberg
  • “Here Be Cartographers,” by Ben Newman
  • “Small Designs,” by Barry Childs-Helton
  • “Take It Back,” by Kathleen Sloan
  • “A Thousand Ships,” by Katy Droege-Macdonald and Juliane Honisch

Best Classic Song

  • “Dragon For Sale,” by Ben Newman
  • “Fire in the Sky,” by Jordin Kare
  • “I Am Stardust,” by Lloyd Landa
  • “Ship of Stone,” by Don Simpson
  • “Will Ye Come Back Home?,” by Mike Richards

Best Performer

  • Play It With Moxie
  • Playing Rapunzel
  • S.J. Tucker
  • Sassafrass
  • Toyboat

Best Writer/Composer

  • Barry Childs-Helton
  • Heather Dale
  • W. Randy Hoffman
  • S.J. Tucker
  • Batya Wittenberg

Best Magic Song

  • “Die Puppen [The Dolls],” by Eva Van Daele-Hunt
  • “Like Their Feet Have Wings,” by Gwen Knighton
  • “Magnus Retail,” by Mary Crowell
  • “Pharmakoia,” by W. Randy Hoffman
  • “Where the Magic is Real,” by Paul Kwinn

Best Mad Science Song

  • “Dawn of the Day Before the Time of the Land the Lost Dinosaurs Forgot to Remember,” by Rand Bellavia/Adam English
  • “Evil Overlords Anonymous,” by Jessica Stevenson/Alasdair Prett
  • “Mad Science Cafe,” by Brooke Lunderville
  • “Mad Scientist’s Love Song,” by Gary McGath
  • “What a Woman’s For,” by Seanan McGuire

For more information…

Pegasus Nominations

The ballot for this year’s Pegasus Awards, given for Best Filk, has been announced. Ballots must be received no later than midnight on October 19. The winners will be announced at Ohio Valley Filk Fest (OVFF) the weekend of October 22-25.

Best Filk Song

  • “Gabriel Gray’s Song,” by Batya Wittenberg
  • “One Small Boat,” by Marilisa Valtazanou
  • “Take It Back,” by Kathleen Sloan
  • “A Thousand Ships,” by Katy Dröge-Macdonald and Ju Honisch
  • “The Wreck of the Crash of the Easthill Mining Disaster,” by Brooke Lunderville

Best Classic Filk Song

  • “Chess,” by Juanita Coulson
  • “Mad Scientist’s Love Song,” by Gary McGath
  • “Spiral Dance,” by Dr. Anne Prather
  • “Starship & Haiku,” by Kathy Mar
  • “Still Catch the Tide,” by Talis Kimberley

Best Performer

  • Heather Dale and Ben Deschamps
  • Amy McNally
  • S. J. Tucker
  • Tim & Annie Walker
  • Wild Mercy

Best Writer/Composer

  • Dr. Mary Crowell
  • Katy Dröge-Macdonald and Juliane Honisch
  • Brooke Lunderville
  • Steve Savitzky
  • Vixy & Tony

A Little Bit Country

  • “Feygrass,” by Scott Snyder
  • “I Can’t Get Over You, So…,” by Nate Bucklin
  • “Redneck Pagan,” by Larry Kirby
  • “Stray Dog Man,” by Bill Sutton
  • “Truck Drivin’ Vampire,” by Michael Longcor

A Little Bit Rock and Roll

  • “Come to Mordor,” by Jeff Bohnhoff
  • Das Über Tuber,” by Rand Bellavia / Adam English
  • “Fluorine Atom,” by Paul Estin
  • “Howl at the Moon,” by Tim & Annie Walker
  • “Six-String Love,” by Vixy & Tony

For more information…