ALA Awards

Numerous awards are presented at the American Library Association Midwinter Meeting, which is taking place in Atlanta from January 20-24. Below are a sampling of some of the awards which have winners of genre interest. Clicking through on the link will provide a more complete listing of awards presented during the meeting.

John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature:

  • The Girl Who Drank the Moon, by Kelly Barnhill

Alex Awards for the 10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences:

  • The Queen of Blood, by Sarah Beth Durst
  • The Regional Office is Under Attack! , by Manuel Gonzales
  • In the Country We Love: My Family Divided, by Diane Guerrero with Michelle Burford
  • Buffering: Unshared Tales of a Life Fully Loaded, by Hannah Hart
  • Arena, by Holly Jennings
  • Every Heart a Doorway, by Seanan McGuire
  • Romeo and/or Juliet: A Choosable-Path Adventure, by Ryan North
  • Die Young with Me: A Memoir, by Rob Rufus
  • The Wasp that Brainwashed the Caterpillar, by Matt Simon
  • The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko, by Scott Stambach

Stonewall Book Award – Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award given annually to English-language children’s and young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience:

  • Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Hammer of Thor, by Rick Riordan
  • Unbecoming, by Jenny Downham

Pura Belpré Awards honoring a Latino writer and illustrator whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience:

  • Lowriders to the Center of the Earth, illustrated by Raúl Gonzalez, written by Cathy Camper and published

For more information…