Obituary: Suzette Haden Elgin

Author and linguist Suzette Haden Elgin (b.Patricia Anne Wilkins, 1936) died on January 27. Elgin began publishing in 1969 with the story “For the Sake of Grace” and followed it a year later with the novel The Communipaths. She may be best known for the Native Tongue trilogy. In 1978, she founded the Science Fiction Poetry Association, and their Elgin Award is named in her honor.

Rhysling Winners

The winners of the Rhysling Award, presented for speculative poetry by the SFPA, have been announced.

  • Short Poem: “Turning the Leaves,” by Amal El-Mohtar
  • Long Poem: “Interregnum,” by Mary Soon Lee

For more information…

Elgin and Dwarf Star Winners

The Science Fiction Poetry Association has announced the winners of this year’s Elgin Award for Books and Dwarf Star Awards for Short Speculative Poetry. The winner of the Dward Star Award will be reprinted in the SFPA anthology The 2013 Dwarf Stars Anthology: The Best Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Short Poetry of 2013.

Elgin Awards

  • Book: Demonstra, by Bryan Thao Worra
  • Chapbook: The Sex Lives of Monsters, by Helen Marshall

Dwarf Star

  • “And Deeper than Did Ever Plummet Sound,” by Matt Joiner

For more information…

Rhysling Award

The winners of the Rhysling Award, presented for speculative poetry by the SFPA, were announced at LoneStarCon 3.

  • Short Poem: “The Cat Star,” by Terry A. Garey
  • Long Poem: “Into Flight,” by Andrew Robert Sutton

For more information…

Elgin Winners

The Science Fiction Poetry Association has announced the winners of this year’s Elgin Awards, for speculative fiction poetry chapbook and the full-length poetry book. this is the first year for this award, which is named for SFPA Founder Suzette Haden Elgin.

  • Chapbook: Out of the Black Forest, F.J. Bergmann
  • Book length: Lovers & Killers, by Mary Turzillo

For more information…

Rhysling Nominees

The Rhysling nominations have been been announced the the Science Fiction Poetry Association. The Rhyslings are presented to recognize excellence in speculative verse.

Short Poems First Published in 2011

  • Mary Alexandra Agner, “Venus to Her Terraformers”
  • Camille Alexa, “Young Miss Frankenstein Regrets”
  • Erik Amundsen, “The Lend”
  • Elizabeth Barrette, “The Shipwright’s Song”
  • Robert Borski, “Abel”
  • Bruce Boston, “The Music of Robots”
  • Rich Boucher, “Response to Botticelli”
  • G. O. Clark, “Peter and Alice”
  • P. S. Cottier, “Fingernails”
  • Becca De La Rosa, “World’s End”
  • James S. Dorr, “Monkey See”
  • Denise Dumars, “Folding Money”
  • Martin Elster, “My Unicorn”
  • Timons Esaias, “Dark Matter”
  • Kendall Evans, “Dragon”
  • Angel Favazza, “Clothes of Yesterday”
  • Janis Freegard, “Yayoi Kusama goes to Iceland”
  • Lyn C. A. Gardner, “In Translation”
  • T. M. Göttl, “Bridges”
  • Neile Graham, “The Bean-Sidhe Calls in Owl-Light”
  • Neile Graham, “The Ones Outside Your Door”
  • John Grey, “Mr. and Mrs. Goodnight”
  • Sandra Kasturi, “Ode to the Mongolian Death Worm”
  • Roz Kaveney, “Fembot”
  • Keith Kennedy, “First Loves for the First Time”
  • Nicole Kornher-Stace, “The Witch’s Heart”
  • B. J. Lee, “The Tortoise’s Encounter”
  • Greg Leunig, “Love in the Quantum Era”
  • Shira Lipkin, “The Library, After”
  • C. S. MacCath, “When I Arrived, This Is What She Said.”
  • Elizabeth R. McClellan, “Down Cycles”
  • Dawn McDuffie, “Thank God for Proust”
  • Joanne Merriam, “Love in the Time of Alien Invasion”
  • Kurt Newton, “Nuclear Stockpile Janitor”
  • Scott Nickell, “Response to Poe’s ‘Sonnet—To Science'”
  • Juan Manuel Perez, “Vanity”
  • Tim Pratt, “Lion Heart”
  • Sofía Rhei, translated by Lawrence Schimel, “The Magic Walnut”
  • Matthew Richards, “Ravel: An Etymology”
  • Andrew Rihn, “The Physics Major Agrees to Take the English Major Stargazing”
  • Ty Russell, “The Seas of Time”
  • R. Paul Sardanas and Tisha Garcia, “Luna Satyricon”
  • Ann K. Schwader, “the more space”
  • Ann K. Schwader, “Past Human”
  • Alexandra Seidel, “Lanterns”
  • John W. Sexton, “slit sea cucumber”
  • Marge Simon, “The Human Guest”
  • Marge Simon, “Visitors”
  • Robin Spriggs, “The Elusive Language of Purple Birds”
  • Heidy Steidlmayer, “Grendel’s Mother”
  • W. Gregory Stewart, “idiointerventionist (or, ‘but I interrupt myself’)”
  • Anna Sykora, “Dead Hotels”
  • Sonya Taaffe, “Taking the Auspices”
  • James E. Tolan, “Red Grown”
  • Mary Turzillo, “Graffiti Tree”
  • Mary Turzillo, “Moving to Enceladus”
  • Anna Waite, “To the ancients, the sea was a dangerous place”
  • Kyla Lee Ward, “The Kite”
  • Gerald Warfield, “A Greater Moon”
  • Jacqueline West, “Escaping the Dawn”
  • Neal Wilgus, “A Modest Suggestion”
  • Stephen M. Wilson, “Angel’s Den”
  • Stephen M. Wilson, “Christogenesis”
  • Greer Woodward, “Closure”

Long Poems First Published in 2011

  • Mike Allen, Sonya Taaffe, and Nicole Kornher-Stace, “The King of Cats, the Queen of Wolves”
  • Erik Amundsen, “Desfixion”
  • Megan Arkenberg, “The Curator Speaks in the Department of Dead Languages”
  • Elizabeth Barrette, “The Cathedral of the Michaelangelines”
  • Dana Bell, “Welcomed Cast Outs”
  • Robert Borski, “Gavage”
  • Bruce Boston, “Surreal Fortune”
  • g. sutton breiding, “Letter from the Golden Age”
  • Benjamin Cartwright, “Terraforming Mars”
  • G. O. Clark and Kendall Evans, “The 25-Cent Rocket: One-Quarter of the Way to the Stars”
  • C. S. E. Cooney, “Postcards from Mars”
  • Lyn C. A. Gardner, “The Chant of the Black Cats”
  • Lyn C. A. Gardner, “The Witch Girl”
  • Albert Goldbarth, “Summary: Kinetic vs. Potential”
  • April Grant, “Wallpaper”
  • Sally Rosen Kindred, “Wendy Darling Has Bad Dreams”
  • Rose Lemberg, “In the Third Cycle”
  • Shira Lipkin, “The Changeling’s Lament”
  • Elissa Malcohn, “The Last Dragon Slayer”
  • Helen Marshall, “Beautiful Monster”
  • Helen Marshall, *Skeleton Leaves: A Collection*
  • Elizabeth R. McClellan, “The Walking Man Goes Looking for the Sons of John: Six Cantos”
  • Joanne Merriam, “Tender Aliens”
  • Mari Ness, “Snowmelt”
  • Paul Park, “Ragnarok”
  • Sofia Samatar, “Girl Hours”
  • Alexandra Seidel, “A Masquerade in Four Voices”
  • Nancy Sheng, “Guan Yin in the Garden”
  • Michael Shorb, “Ahura Mazda”
  • J. E. Stanley, “Speaking to the Hangman Is Not Permitted”
  • Mary Turzillo, “The Legend of the Emperor’s Space Suit (A Tale of Consensus Reality)”
  • Catherynne M. Valente, “The Melancholy of Mechagirl”
  • Catherynne M. Valente, “The Secret of Being a Cowboy”
  • JoSelle Vanderhooft, “Blood, Snow, Birch and Underworld”
  • Caitlin Meredith Walsh, “Initiation”
  • Kyla Lee Ward, “The Soldier’s Return”
  • Shannon Connor Winward, “All Souls’ Day”
  • Greer Woodward, “Ribbons of the Sun”
  • Xanadu (Ofnguyenfame), “Mood of Mind (I)—*Tu Bi Hi Xa*”

For more information…