Steamcon Airship Awards

The nominees for the first Steamcon Airship Awards have been announced. The Steamcon Airship Awards will be presented at Steamcon II: Weird Weird West, to be held in Seattle, Washington from November 19-21. Any pre-registered member of the con may vote for the winners in five categories.


  • Boneshaker, by Cherie Priest
  • The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, by Alan Moore
  • Mainspring, by Jay Lake
  • Soulless, by Gail Carriger


  • Paul Guinan
  • Richard Nagy
  • Haruo Suekichi
  • Jake von Slatt


  • Abney Park
  • The Clockwork Dolls
  • Extraordinary Contraptions
  • The Men that Will Not Be Blamed for Nothing

Community Contributor

  • Captain Robert Brown of Abney Park
  • GD Falksen
  • Mike Perschon
  • Jake Von Slatt


  • Deadlands Role Playing Game
  • Girl Genius
  • The League of STEAM
  • The Mysterious Geographic Explorations of Jasper Morello

For more information…
For information about Steamcon…

Seattle Westercon in 2012

Seattle has won the bid to host Westercon in 2012. The convention, which will be called ConClusion and run from July 5-8, 2012, will be chaired by Bobby DuFault and run by the Seattle Westercon Organizing Committee (SWOC). Guests of Honor include author Robin Hobb, artists Frank and Brianna Spacekat Wu, scientist Art Bozlee, and fan Chaz Baden Boston.

For more information…

Locus Award Winners

The winners of this year’s Locus Awards were announced at the Science Fiction Awards Weekend in Seattle on June 26. The Locus Awards are decided based on a vote of Locus readers.

  • Science Fiction Novel: Boneshaker, by Cherie Priest
  • Fantasy Novel: The City & The City, by China MiĆ©ville
  • First Novel: The Windup Girl, by Paolo Bacigalupi
  • Young Adult Novel: Leviathan, by Scott Westerfeld
  • Novella: The Women of Nell Gwynne’s, by Kage Baker
  • Novelette: “By Moonlight,” by Peter S. Beagle
  • Short Story: “An Invocation of Incuriosity,” by Neil Gaiman
  • Magazine: F&SF
  • Publisher: Tor
  • Anthology: The New Space Opera 2, edited by Gardner Dozois & Jonathan Strahan
  • Collection: The Best of Gene Wolfe, by Gene Wolfe
  • Editor: Ellen Datlow
  • Artist: Michael Whelan
  • Non-Fiction/Art Book: Cheek by Jowl, by Ursula K. Le Guin

For more information…


The Science Fiction Museum in Seattle has announced that it will host an exhibit on Battlestar Galactica in cooperation with Universal Cable Productions and Syfy. The display will open on October 23 and will include props from the recently aired show, including three full sized spaceships and costumes. The exhibit will run through March 4, 2012.

For more information…

Obituary: Wrai Ballard

Seattle fan Wrai Ballard (b.1924) died on July 24. Ballard was an active contributor to FAPA and official editor and contributor to SAPS. Lee Jacobs created a series of pulp-style adventures in SAPS entitled “The Ballard Chronicles,” starring a fictionalized version of Ballard. In the early 1950s, Ballard refused to publish Jacobs’s essay “The Influence of Science Fiction on Modern American Filk Music,” which inadvertantly coined the term filk because of fear that its bawdy nature could get SAPS in trouble with post office censors. Ballard thereafter promoted the typo. Ballard has been suffering from cancer.

2009 Hall of Fame Inductees

The Science Fiction Museum has announced the inductees for the class of 2009. This year’s class will be inducted the weekend of June 26 at the Seattle museum. This year’s inductees include Connie Willis, Michael Whelan, Frank R. Paul, and Edward L. Ferman.

For more information…

SFM Gets New Director

Christina Orr-Cahall has been named the new CEO and Director of the Experience Music Project/Science Fiction Museum in Seattle, Washington. Orr-Cahall replaces interim CEO Josi Callan. Orr-Cahall comes to the museum from the Norton Museum of Art in West Palm Beach, FL, where she held a similar position. When Orr-Cahall took over the Norton Museum nineteen years ago, it had 16 employees and is now considered a major regional museum. She is expected to begin at the EMP/SFM on July 1.

For more information…