SFRA Winners

The winners of the SFRA Awards, presented annually by the Science Fiction Research Association, have been announced. The presentation of the awards will be at this year’s SFRA conference, 28 June-1 July, in Detroit, Michigan.

  • Pilgrim Award (for life time contributions to SF/F studies): Pamela Sargent
  • Pioneer Award (for outstanding essay-length work of the year): “Toward a Cosmopolitan Science Fiction,” by David M. Higgins
  • Thomas D. Clareson Award for Distinguished Service: Art Evans
  • Mary Kay Bray Award (for the best essay, interview, or extended review in the past year’s SFRA Review): “Review of Rise of the Planet of the Apes,” by T.S. Miller
  • Student Essay Award (for best student paper presented at the previous year’s SFRA conference): “Fantastic Voices: Octavia Butler’s First-Person Narrators and ‘The Evening and the Morning and the Night’,” by Florian Bast

For more information…

SFRA Award Winners

The Science Fiction Research Association announced their awards in advance of their annual conference, which will be held this year in Lublin, Poland from July 7-11. The awards recognize scholarship into science fiction and fantasy. The Pilgrim Award is a lifetime achievement award. The Pioneer Award is given for best essay of the year. The Clareson Award is presented for service to SF scholarship. The Mary Kay Bray Award is given for best article, essay, or review to appear in the SFRA Review.

  • Pilgrim Award: Donna Haraway
  • Pioneer Award: John Rieder, “On Defining SF, or Not: Genre Theory, SF, and History”
  • Clareson Award: The Tiptree Motherboard (Karen Joy Fowler, Debbie Notkin, Ellen Klages, Jeanne Gomoll, Jeff Smith, Pat Murphy)
  • Mary Kay Bray: Alfredo Suppia, “Southern Portable Panic: Federico Álvarez’s Ataque de Pánico!”
  • Student Paper: Bradley Fest, “Tales of Archival Crisis: Stephenson’s Reimagining of the Post-Apocalyptic Frontier”
  • Student Paper Honorable Mention: Erin McQuiston, “Thank God It’s Friday: Threatened Frontier Masculinity in Robinson Crusoe on Mars”

For more information…

Obituary: Art Lewis

Fan Arthur Lewis (b.1920) died on July 18. Lewis served as president of the Science Fiction Research Association in 1977-78. He was also a professor at Penn State until his retirement in 1985. Lewis specialized in Utopian literature and some of his work includes Of Men and Machines . He edited the anthology Utopias: Selected Short Fiction and a 41-volume reprint of Utopian literature fo Arno Press.

SFRA Awards

The Science Fiction Research Association has announced the winners of its annual awards. The awards will be presented at their annual conference, held this year in Atlanta, Georgia from June 11-14.

  • The Pilgrim Award: Brian Attebery
  • The Pioneer Award: “Giving An Account of Oneself: Ethics, Alterity, Air,” by Neil Easterbrook
  • The Clareson Award: Hal Hall
  • The Mary Kay Bray Award: Sandor Klapcsik for his review of Rewired
  • The Graduate Student Paper Award: “The Imperial Unconscious: Samuel R. Delany’s The Fall of the Towers,” by Dave Higgins

For More Information…