Year’s Best Military and Adventure SF Award

Sharon Lee and Steve Miller have won the third Year’s Best Military and Adventure SF Award for their story “Wise Child,” presented by Baen Books and based on readers’ votes on the contents of The Year’s Best Military and Adventure SF, edited by David Afsharirad. The winners were announced at the Baen Traveling Road Show held at Dragon Con. Lee and Miller will receive a plaque and a $500 prize.

Massive Liaden Universe Audio Release

Sharon Lee and Steve Miller’s Liaden Universe will release fifteen audio books in the Liaden Universe for download on September 4 to coincide with the hardcover publication of Dragon Ship. Kevin Collins and Bernadette Dunne will each narrate three books, Eileen Stevens will narrate four books, and Andy Caploe will narrate five books.

For more information…

Skylark Presented

At Boskone 49, the weekend of February 17-19, this year’s recipients of the Skylark award was announced. The Skylark Award is presented for significant contributions through work in the field of science fiction and by exemplifying the personal qualities which made the late “Doc” Smith well-loved by those who knew him. The Gaughan Award is presented to an emerging artist and no winner was announced this year. In addition, a new Fellow of NESFA was named.

Skylark Award: Sharon Lee and Steve Miller
Gaughan Award: no winner announced
Fellow of NESFA: Bob Devney

For more information…