Sturgeon Nominees

The nominees for this year’s Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for short story have been announced. The winner, selected by a jury comprised of James Gunn, Kij Johnson, Frederik Pohl, George Zebrowski, and Noel Sturgeon, will be announced at this year’s Campbell Conference in Lawrence, KS the weekend of July 16-18.

  • “Things Undone,” by John Barnes
  • “This Wind Blowing, and This Tide,” by Damien Broderick
  • “As Women Fight,” by Sara Genge
  • “Blood Dauber,” by Ted Kosmatka and Michael Poore
  • “Cockatrice,” by Tanith Lee
  • Shambling Towards Hiroshima, by James Morrow
  • “Her Voice in a Bottle,” by Tim Pratt
  • “True Fame,” by Robert Reed
  • “The Death of Che Guevara,” by Lewis Shiner
  • “Eros, Philia, Agape,” by Rachel Swirsky
  • “The Island,” by Peter Watts

    For more information…

  • Edge Hill Short Story Prize

    Chris Beckett’s collection The Turing Test won the 2009 Edge Hill Short Story Prize, presented annually for best single-author story collection published in the United Kingdom. The award, which is not a genre specific award, carries with it a £5,000 prize and a painting by Liverpool artist Peter Clarke. Beckett received an additional £1,000 as the Reader’s Prize, given in conjunction with the award.

    For more information…