2001 + 17

17 minutes of additional footage from the Stanley Kubrick film 2001: a space odyssey have turned up in a vault in Kansas. The footage was cut from the film following its New York debut and Kubrick indicated that he preferred the film without the scenes. Warner Brothers has issued a statement concerning the found footage.
For more information…

2014 Hall of Fame Class

This year’s inductees into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame have been announced. The Hall of Fame is now part of the Icons of Science Fiction exhibit at the Experience Music Project Museum.

  • Leigh Brackett
  • Frank Frazetta
  • Stanley Kubrick
  • Hayao Miyazaki
  • Olaf Stapledon

For more information…

2001 Footage Found

Seventeen minutes of edited footage from the film 2001: A Space Odyssey were recently discovered stored in a film archive in Kansas. The footage, which is in pristine condition, was cut from the film by director Stanley Kubrick shortly after the film was first released.

For more information…