Stoker Awards Presented

The 2015 Stoker Awards were presented on May 14 at StokerCon in Las Vegas.

  • Superior Achievement in a Novel: A Head Full of Ghosts, by Paul Tremblay
  • Superior Achievement in a First Novel: Mr. Suicide, by Nicole Cushing
  • Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel: Devil’s Pocket, by John Dixo
  • Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel: Shadow Show: Stories in Celebration of Ray Bradbury, edited by Sam Weller, Mort Castle, Chris Ryall, & Carlos Guzman
  • Superior Achievement in Long Fiction: “Little Dead Red,” by Mercedes M. Yardley
  • Superior Achievement in Short Fiction: “Happy Joe’s Rest Stop,” by John Palisano
  • Superior Achievement in a Screenplay: It Follows, by David Robert Mitchell
  • Superior Achievement in an Anthology: The Library of the Dead, edited by Michael Bailey
  • Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection: While the Black Stars Burn, by Lucy A. Snyder
  • Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction: The Art of Horror, by Stephen Jones
  • Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection: Eden Underground, by Alessandro Manzetti
  • Specialty Press Award: Borderlands Press
  • The Richard Laymon President’s Award: to Patrick Freivald and Andrew Wolter
  • Silver Hammer Award: Michael Knost
  • The Mentor of the Year Award: Tim Waggoner
  • Lifetime Achievement Awards: Alan Moore and George A. Romero

For more information…

Stoker Award Winners

The Bram Stoker Awards for superior achievement in horror writing were presented by the Horror Writers of America on June 13 at the Stoker Awards Weekend in Burbank, California.

  • Superior Novel: Duma Key, by Stephen King
  • Superior First Novel: The Gentling Box, by Lisa Manetti.
  • Superior Long Fiction Award: “Miranda,” by John R. Little
  • Superior Short Fiction: “The Lost,” by Sarah Langan
  • Superior Fiction Collection Award: Just After Sunset, by Stephen King
  • Superior Anthology Award: Unspeakable Horror, edited by Vince Liaguno and Chad Helder
  • Richard Laymon President’s Award to John Little
  • Superior Non-Fiction: A Hallowe’en Anthology, by Lisa Morton
  • Superior Poetry Award: The Nightmare Collection, by Bruce Boston
  • Silver Hammer Award: Sephera Giron for her service to the organization.

Stoker Nominations

The Bram Stoker Awards nominations, honoring excellence in horror fiction, have been announced. The awards, given by the Horror Writers of America, will be presented the weekend of June 12-14 in Burbank during the Stoker Awards Weekend.

Superior Achievement in a Novel

  • Coffin County, by Gary Braunbeck
  • The Reach, by Nate Kenyon
  • Duma Key, by Stephen King
  • Johnny Gruesome, by Gregory Lamberson

Superior Achievement in a First Novel

  • Midnight on Mourn Street, by Christopher Conlon
  • The Gentling Box, by Lisa Mannetti
  • Monster Behind the Wheel, by Michael McCarty and Mark McLaughlin
  • The Suicide Collectors, by David Oppegaard
  • Frozen Blood, by Joel A. Sutherland

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction

  • “The Shallow End of the Pool,” by Adam-Troy Castro
  • “Miranda,” by John R. Little
  • “Redemption Roadshow,” by Weston Ochse
  • “The Confessions of St. Zach,” by Gene O’Neill

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

  • “Petrified,” by Scott Edelman
  • “The Lost,” by Sarah Langan
  • “The Dude Who Collected Lovecraft,” by Nick Mamatas, and Tim Pratt
  • “Evidence of Love in a Case of Abandoment,” by M. Rickert
  • “Turtle,” by Lee Thomas

Superior Achievement in an Anthology

  • Like a Chinese Tattoo, edited by Bill Breedlove
  • Horror Library, Vol. 3, edited by R. J. Cavender
  • Beneath the Surface, edited by Tim Deal
  • Unspeakable Horror, edited by Vince A. Liaguno and Chad Helder

Superior Achievement in a Collection

  • The Number 121 to Pennsylvania, by Kealan Patrick Burke
  • Mama’s Boy and Other Dark Tales, by Fran Friel
  • Just After Sunset, by Stephen King
  • Mr. Gaunt AND Othet Uneasy Encounters, by John Langan
  • Gleefully Macabre Tales, by Jeff Strand

Superior Achievement in Nonfiction

  • Cheap Scares, by Gregory Lamberson
  • Zombie CSU, by Jonathan Maberry
  • A Hallowe’en Anthology, by Lisa Morton
  • The Book of Lists: Horror, by Amy Wallace, Del Howison, and Scott Bradley

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

  • The Nightmare Collection, by Bruce Boston
  • The Phantom World, by Gary William Crawford
  • Virgin of the Apocalypse, by Corrine De Winter
  • Attack of the Two-Headed Poetry Monster, by Mark McLaughlin and Michael McCarty

For more information…