Storysouth Million Writers Award

Adam-Troy Castro’s short story “Arvies” won this year’s Storysouth Million Writers Award. The award is presented for stories first published on-line. First prize includes $600 plus a $100 gift certificate from ThinkGeek. This year’s honorable mention also went to a genre author, Amal El-Mohtar for the story “The Green Book”

For more information…

Million Writers Award Top Ten Stories

storySouth has announced the ten finalists for their Million Writers Award for 2011. Multiple genre stories appear on this year’s ballot, which is open to voting by anyone with an e-mail address. Voting is open through July 6.

  • “Hell Dogs,” by Daphne Buter
  • “Arvies,” by Adam-Troy Castro
  • “The Green Book,” by Amal El-Mohtar
  • “Do You Have a Place for Me,” by Roxane Gay
  • “Here is David, the Greatest of Descendants,” by Spencer Kealamakia
  • “The Incorrupt Body of Carlo Busso,” by Eric Maroney
  • “Cancer Party,” by Nicola Mason
  • “Arthur Arellano,” by Viet Thanh Nguyen
  • “Elegy for a Young Elk,” by Hannu Rajaniemi
  • “Most of Them Would Follow Wandering Fires,” by Amber Sparks

For more information…