Ditmar Winners

The winners of the Ditmar Awards for Australian science fiction, were announced at Swancon 43 on April 1.

  • Best Novel: Crossroads of Canopy, by Thoraiya Dyer
  • Best Novella or Novelette: “Girl Reporter,” by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • Best Short Story: “A Pearl Beyond Price,” by Janeen Webb
  • Best Collected Work: Ecopunk!, by Cat Sparks and Liz Grzyb
  • Best Artwork: cover art, Lewis Morley, for Matters Arising from the Identification of the Body
  • Best Fan Publication in Any Medium: SF Commentary, edited by Bruce Gillespie
  • Best Fan Writer: Stephanie Lai, for writing at No Award
  • Best Fan Artist: Shauna O’Meara, for “How to Bee”
  • Best New Talent: Stephanie Lai
    William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review: “Reflecting on Indigenous Worlds, Indigenous Futurisms and Artificial Intelligence,” by Ambelin Kwaymullina

For more information…

Aurealis Winners

The 2017 Aurealis Awards winners were announced on March 31 in Perth, Australia at Swancon. The Aurealis Awards are given out annual for excellence in Australian speculative fiction.

  • Best Science Fiction Novel: From the Wreck, by Jane Rawson
  • Best Science Fiction Novella: Girl Reporter, by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • Best Science Fiction Short Story: “Conversations with an Armoury,” by Garth Nix
  • Best Fantasy Novel: Godsgrave, by Jay Kristoff
  • Best Fantasy Novella: >In Shadows We Fall, by Devin Madson
  • Best Fantasy Short Story: “The Curse is Come Upon Me, Cried,” by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • Best Horror Novel: Soon, by Lois Murphy
  • Best Horror Novella: “The Stairwell,” by Chris Mason
  • Best Horror Short Story: “Old Growth,” by J. Ashley Smith
  • Best Young Adult Novel: In The Dark Spaces, by Cally Black
  • Best Young Adult Short Story: Girl Reporter, by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • Best Children’s Fiction: Nevermoor, by Jessica Townsend
  • Best Collection: The Silver Well, by Kate Forsyth & Kim Wilkins
  • Best Anthology: Infinity Wars, edited Jonathan Strahan
  • Best Graphic Novel/Illustrated Work: Changing Ways: Book 3, by Justin Randall

For more information…

GUFF Seeks Nominees

The Going Under/Get Up and Over Fan Fund is seeking European fans who would like to stand for the privilege of traveling to Swancon in Perth, Australia, to be held from March 29-April 1, or to Au Contraire in Wellington from July 12-14, 2013. Nominees will need three European and two Australasian nominators and should inform the GUFF administrators of their intentions, provide a 100 word statement and put up a bond. Deadline for nominations is October 11, with the candidates announced on October 13.

For more information…

Other Australian Awards

In addition to the Ditmar Awards, the Australian national award, several other Australian awards were presented during the Ditmar ceremony at Swancon 36. They include:

  • A. Bertram Chandler Award: Paul Collins
  • Norma K. Hemming: Diamond Eyes, by Anita A. Bell
  • Peter McNamara Award: Lucy Sussex
  • William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review: Tansy Rayner Roberts for A Modern Woman’s Guide to Classic Who

The A. Bertram Chandler Award is presented for outstanding achievement in Australian science fiction.
The Norma K. Hemming Award is presented for excellence in the exploration of themes of race, gender, class and sexuality. This is the first time this award has been presented.
The Peter McNamara Award is presented to a professional in the field of Australian science fiction.
The William Atheling Jr. Award is presented for criticism and reviews.

Ditmar Awards

The Ditmar Awards were presented at Swancon during the weekend of April 22-24. The Ditmars are selected by Australian fans.

  • Best Novel: Power and Majesty, by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • Best Novella or Novelette: “The Company Articles of Edward Teach,” by Thoraiya Dyer
  • Best Short Story: (tie) “All the Love in the World,” by Cat Sparks; “She Said,” by Kirstyn McDermott
  • Best Collected Work: Sprawl, by Alisa Krasnostein
  • Best Artwork: The Lost Thing, by Andrew Ruhemann and Shaun Tan
  • Best Fan Writer: Alexandra Pierce for body of work including reviews at Australian Speculative Fiction in Focus
  • Best Fan Artist: Amanda Rainey for Swancon 36 logo
  • Best Fan Publication in Any Medium: Galactic Suburbia, podcast by Alisa Krasnostein, Tansy Rayner Roberts, and Alex Pierce
  • Best Achievement: Alisa Krasnostein, Kathryn Linge, Rachel Holkner, Alexandra Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts, and Tehani Wessely for Snapshot 2010
  • Best New Talent: Thoraiya Dyer