Obituary: Johan Frick

Swedish SF author Johan Frick (b.1966) died on November 14. Frick founded the Gothenburg outlet of the Science Fiction bookstore, published several short stories, and translated the works of Patricia McKillip into Swedish.

Fantasiknovelltävlingen Winners

The winners of the 2015 Fantasiknovelltävlingen (Fantastic Short Story Competition) were announced. The Fantasiknovelltävlingen has been running in Sweden since 2000 and is sponsored by SKRIVA, a writer’s list. A total of 2000 Swedish kroner were distributed to the winners. Prizes were sponsored by SF Bokhandeln bookstore, the magazine Skriva, the publishers Wela and Zenzat.

  • 1st Prize: “Bläcklingar,” by Fredrik Stennek
  • 2nd Prize: “Hon,” by Eva Ullerud
  • 3rd Prize: “Götheborg,” by Dennis Jacobsson

For more information…

Fan Denied Seat at EU Debate

Swedish SF fan Andrea Andersdotter, who was elected to represent Sweden in the EU Parliament for the Pirate Party in 2009, was nominated by her party for the EU Presidency. Andersdotter has been informed that she will not be able to participate in the EU Presidential debates. The EU explanation appears to be that Andersdotter missed the initial filing deadline and that the Party Group the Pirate party belongs to is already sending a candidate to the debate.

For more information…

Fantasiknovelltävlingen Winners

The winners of the 2013 Fantasiknovelltävlingen (Fantastic Short Story Competition) were announced. The Fantasiknovelltävlingen has been running in Sweden since 2000 and is sponsored by SKRIVA, a writer’s list. First prize receives €100, with second prize receiving €50 and third receiving €30. Case prizes were donated by Novellmästarna.

  • 1st Prize: “Den hängda mannen,” by Jonas Lejon
  • 2nd Prize: “Intelligentare människor,” by Johannes Pinter
  • 3rd Prize: “De dansande stjärnornas natt,” by Robert Warreback

For more information…

Alvar Appeltofft Memorial Award

Jonas Wissting was named the recipient of the Alvar Appeltofft Memorial Award at the Swedish National Convention. The award, named for Swedish fan Alvar Appeltofft, who died in 1976, is the premiere Swedish fan award. Wissting is a long-time fan who has made numerous records of panels and speeches. The award includes a certificate and a cash prize of €500.

For more information… (Swedish)

Fantastiknovelltävlingen Winners

The winners of the thirteen annual Fantastiknovelltävlingen, a short story contest run by the Swedish e-mail list SKRIVA with support from the writers group Novellmästarna, have been announced. The winners share a €200 prize.

  • 1st prize “Hemliga lådan,” by Robin Karlsson (“The Secret Box”)
  • 2nd prize “Tvättstugan,” by Jonas Lejon (“The Laundry Room”)
  • 3rd prize “Inbjudningskortet,” by Patrik Centerwall (“The Invitation Card”)

For more information… (Swedish)

World SF Travel Fund Recipients

Swedish authors Karin Tidbeck and Nene Ormes have been named the recipients of the World SF Travel Fund, which will permit the two women to travel to Toronto, Canada to attend this year’s World Fantasy Convention, with additional assistance from Cheeky Frawg Books, run by Ann and Jeff VanderMeer. The selection board was comprised of Lauren Beukes, Aliette de Bodard, Nnedi Okorafor, Ekaterina Sedia, and Charles Tan. Lavie Tidhar and Sean Wallace administer the fund.

For more information…

Obituary: Kristiina Kolehmainen

Swedish librarian Kristiina Kolehmainen (b.1953) died on March 27. Kolehmainen founded the Serieteket, the comics library housed within Stockholm’s Kulturhuset. Since 1998, Kolehmainen also served as director of the Stockholm International Comics Festival/Small Press Expo, helping to build the event.

Obituary: Arne Sjögren

Swedish fan Arne Sjögren (b.1940) died on January 7. In the mid-60s, Sjögren co-edited the clubzine Cosmos Bulletin with Ingemar Nilsson. Sjögren also published some short fiction and critical essays.

Obituary: Anders Åkerlind

Swedish fan Anders Åkerlind (b.1960?) died on February 11, 2011. Åkerlind was active from the late 70s through the mid-80s. he founded the APA SFF (Swedish Fanzine Association). More recently, he played with the band Saturn Girl and the Toneheroes.