TAFF Race Heads West

Nina Horvath of Austria and Wolf von Witting of Finland, Sweden, Russia, and Italy have declared they are running for TAFF, to travel to Spokane for Sasquan in 2015. The voting deadline is April 7.

For more information…

Obituary: Vijay deSelby-Bowen

Fan Vijay deSelby-Bowen (b.Velma J. Bowen) died on October 18 following a lengthy battle with cancer. Vijay entered fandom in 1982 and was the 1999 TAFF delegate, following in the footsteps of her cousin, Elliott Shorter. She served as secretary of the Lunarians and helped run Lunacon. She eventually moved to Seattle with her long-time companion Soren “Scraps” deSelby.

Phillips Wins TAFF

Curt Phillips has been declared the winner of the Eastbound TAFF Race this year and will attend Loncon 3 as the North American delegate. Phillips won with an outright majority in a field that included Brad & Cindy Foster and Randy Smith.

For more information…

TAFF Is Underway

Brad and Cindy Foster, Curt Phillips, and Randy Smith have declared they are running for TAFF, to travel to London for Loncon 3 in 2014.

For more information…

TAFF Winner

Jim Mowatt has been declared the winner of the Westbound TAFF Race this year and will attend LoneStarCon 3 as the European delegate. He defeated Theresa Derwin. Release of tallies is pending

ETA Vote tallies
58 votes were cast from North America and 60 votes from Europe with 3 votes from the rest of the world.
Jim Mowatt received 47 NA, 44 Eur for a total of 91
Theresa Derwin received 5 NA, 11 Eur for a total of 16
Hold Over received 1 NA for a total of 1
No Preference received 8 NA, 5 Eur for a total of 13
(rest of world tallies included in NA numbers).

For more information…

TAFF Underway

Theresa Derwin and Jim Mowatt have declared they are running for TAFF, to travel to the United States for LoneStarCon 3 in 2013. The official ballot is on-line and voting runs through April 19.

For more information…

TAFF Winner Announced

Jacqueline Monahan has been announced as the winner of this year’s TAFF Race to send a North American to Europe. Monahan will attend Eastercon. Monahan beat Warren Buff and Kim Kofmel in a three way race. Vote tallies have not yet been announced, but the number of ballots received doubled in the final week of voting.


Warren Buff, Kim G. Kofmel, and Jacqueline Monahan have declared they are running for TAFF, to travel to the United Kingdom for Eastercon in 2012. The official ballot will be posted in the next few days.

Fore more information…

TAFF Winner: John Coxon

John Coxon was declared the winner of a four-way TAFF race the day after the deadline. Coxon won with 27 European votes and 11 North American votes. A minimum of 27 European votes and 10 North American votes were required for victory. Graham Charnock received 20 North American votes, but only 20 European votes, Liam Proven received 75 European votes, but fell short of the North American vote requirement by one, and Paul Treadway received 10 European and 9 North American votes. A total of 189 votes were cast. Coxon will travel to the US to attend Renovation as this year’s TAFF delegate and will take over Steve Green’s administrative duties.
For more information…

TAFF Podcast

All four contenders for this year’s Trans-Atlantic Fan Fund race to travel from Europe to North America, have participated in a podcast of interviews with Jim Mowatt. This year’s candidates include Graham Charnock, John Coxen, Liam Proven, and Paul Treadaway. TAFF voting is open until March 12, 2011.

For the podcast…
For more information on TAFF…