Finnish SF Awards

A variety of Finnish science fiction awards were presented at Finncon 2016. The Atorox Award is presented for best Finnish story of the previous year, the Tähtifantasia Award is for best book translated into Finnish.

  • Atorox Award: “Kaunis Ululian,” by Magdalena Hai (“Beautiful Ululian”)
  • Tähtifantasia Award: Kanelipuodit ja muita kertomuksia, by Shaun Tan (Tales from Outer Suburbia)
  • Tähtivaeltaja Award: Uusi maa, by Margaret Atwood (MaddAddam)

For more information… Finnish

Tähtivaeltaja Nominations

The candidates for the Tähtivaeltaja Award for best science fiction book published in Finland last year have been announced. The winner is selected by a jury of Hannu Blommila, Toni Jerrman, Elli Leppä, and Antti Oikarinen and will be announced in May.

  • Uusi maa, by Margaret Atwood (MaddAddam)
  • Kudottujen kujien kaupunki, by Emmi Itäranta
  • Haikaran silmä, by Ursula K. Le Guin (The Eye of the Heron)
  • Hävitys, by Jeff VanderMeer (Annihilation)
  • Liktorin miekka, by Gene Wolfe (The Sword of the Lictor)

For more information…