Tiptree Winners

The winners and Honor List of this year’s James Tiptree, Jr. Award have been announced. The winners, a tie this year, will be presented with their prize at Wiscon, in Madison, Wisconsin. The Tiptree Award is presented to works that explore and expand gender roles in sf and fantasy.


  • The Knife of Never Letting Go, by Patrick Ness
  • Filter House, Nisi Shawl

Honor List

  • The Love We Share Without Knowing, by Christopher Barzak
  • The Explosionist, by Jenny Davidson
  • Shadowbridge and Lord Tophet, by Gregory Frost
  • Two Pearls of Wisdom, by Alison Goodman
  • “Pride and Prometheus,” by John Kessel
  • Tender Morsels, by Margo Lanagan
  • Lavinia, by Ursula K. Le Guin
  • Let the Right One In, by John Ajvide Lindqvist
  • A Princess of Roumania, The Tourmaline, The White Tyger, and The Hidden World, by Paul Park
  • The Alchemy of Stone, by Ekaterina Sedia
  • Girl Meets Boy, by Ali Smith
  • Flora’s Dare: How a Girl of Spirit Gambles All to Expand Her Vocabulary, Confront a Bouncing Boy Terror, and Try to Save Califa from a Shaky Doom (Despite Being Confined to Her Room), by Ysabeau S. Wilce

For more information…