Clarke Award Winner

The winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award was announced during Sci-Fi-London 9: The Ninth Annual International Festival of Science Fiction and Fantastic Film. This year, the award included a prize of £2013. The winner is Chris Beckett for the novel Dark Eden.

For more information…

“Snodgrass” Airs in UK

A dramatization based on Ian R. MacLeod’s alternate history story “Snodgrass” is being made as part of the UK Sky Playhouse. Snodgrass, about a world in which John Lennon left the Beatles before they hit it big. The production, which will air on Sky Arts 1, is based on the first third of the story. The show will be broadcast on April 25. John Lennon will be portrayed by Ian Hart, who previously portrayed Lennon in The Hours and Times (1991) and Backbeat (1994).

For more information…

Royal Mail Issues Doctor Who Stamps

In honor of the fiftieth anniversary of Doctor Who, the Royal Mail will be releasing official stamps. The main sheet of stamps will include eleven first class stamps, each with an image of one of the actors who portrayed the character. A second sheet of stamps will also be issued that includes one first class stamp depicting the TARDIS and four additional second class stamps depicting the Daleks, Cybermen, Ood, and Weeping Angels. The stamps will be made available in the spring of 2013.

For more information…

Lewis in Westminster

British author C.S. Lewis, who wrote The Chronicles of Narnia, The Perelandra trilogy, The Screwtape Letters, and several works on religion, will be honored with the placement of a memorial stone in Poet’s Corner of Westminster Abbey on November 22, 2013, the fiftieth anniversary of his death. Lewis will be the first addition to Poet’s Corner since Ted Hughes was added in December of 2011. Poet’s Corner is part of the south transept of Westminster Abbey, so named for the large number of poets, playwrights, and writers buried and commemorated there.

For more information…

African Science Fiction Symposium

On November 20, Africa In Science Fiction will be held at the Southbank Centre in London. The first part of the program will be a panel discussion called “Universal Mind Control” and chaired by Toyin Agbetu. Other panelists will include Tosin Coker and Biram Mboob. The second part of the symposium will be called “Parable of the Talents” and is a film screening with a question and answer period with Joy Francis, Oladipo Agboluaje, and animator Kibwe Tavares. The event is being coordinated by Agbetu and Courttia Newland.

For more information…
For tickets…

British Fantasy Awards

The winners of the 2011 British Fantasy Awards, presented by the British Fantasy Society, were announced on September 30 at Fantasycon in Brighton.

  • Best Novel (Robert Holdstock Fantasy Award): Among Others, by Jo Walton
  • Best Novel (August Derleth Horror Award): The Ritual, by Adam Nevill
  • Best Novella: “Gorel and the Pot-Bellied,” God by Lavie Tidhar
  • Best Short Fiction: “The Coffin-Maker’s Daughter,” by Angela Slatter
  • Best Anthology: The Weird, edited by Ann and Jeff VanderMeer
  • Best Collection: Everyone’s Just So, So Special, by Robert Shearman
  • Best Screenplay: Midnight in Paris, by Woody Allen
  • Best Magazine/Periodical: Black Static, edited by Andy Cox
  • Best Comic/Graphic Novel: Locke and Key, by Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez
  • Best Non-Fiction: Supergods, by Grant Morrison
  • Best Independent Press: Chomu Press
  • Best Newcomer: Kameron Hurley

For more infrmation…

Loncon 3 in 2014

The London Worldcon bid easily won site selection at Chicon 7, receiving 864 of 932 votes cast in an uncontested election. The convention will take place from August 14-18, 2014 at the ExCeL London. Alice Lawson and Steve Cooper will serve as the convention’s co-chairs. The Guests of Honor will be Iain M. Banks, John Clute, Malcolm Edwards, Chris Foss, Jeanne Gomoll, Robin Hobb, and Bryan Talbot. Previous Loncons were held in 1957 and 1965.

For more information…

BFA Special Awards Nominations Announced

The British Fantasy Society has appointed three special juries to give out awards for artist, non-fiction, and the PS Publishing Independent Press Awards at FantasyCon in Brighton on 30 September 2012. Tee jurors and nominees are listed below.

The PS Publishing Independent Press Award:

Jurors: Sandy Auden, Peter Crowther, Nicholas Royle, Peter Tennant, Darren Turpin

  • Chomu Press, publisher Quentin S Crisp
  • Gray Friar Press, publisher Gary Fry
  • NewCon Press, publisher Ian Whates
  • Spectral Press, publisher Simon Marshall-Jones

The Artist Award:

Jurors: Guy Adams, Anne Sudworth, Christopher Teague

  • Ben Baldwin
  • Vincent Chong
  • Les Edwards
  • Daniel Serra

The Non-Fiction Award

Jurors: Djibril al-Ayad, Roz Kaveney, Adam Roberts

  • Lest You Should Suffer Nightmares: A Biography of Herbert Van Thal, by Johnny Mains
  • Supergods: Our World in the Age of the Superhero, by Grant Morrison
  • Nightmare Movies: Horror on Screen since the 1960s, by Kim Newman
  • Studies in Terror: Landmarks of Horror Cinema, by Jonathan Rigby
  • Case Notes, by Peter Tennant

For more information…

British Fantasy Award Nominations

The nominations for the British Fantasy Awards have been announced. The nominations are based on 952 recommendations from BFS members and FantasyCon attendees. There will be two awards in the best Novel category: The August Derleth Award for best horror novel and The Robert Holdstock Award for best fantasy novel. The BFAward Judges this year include James Barclay, Hal Duncan, Maura McHugh, Esther Sherman, and Damien G. Walter. The winners will be announced at FantasyCon in Brighton on 30 September 2012.


  • The Heroes, by Joe Abercrombie
  • 11.22.63, by Stephen King
  • Cyber Circus, by Kim Lakin-Smith
  • A Dance with Dragons, by George R. R. Martin
  • The Ritual, by Adam Nevill
  • Among Others, by Jo Walton


  • Terra Damnata, by James Cooper
  • “Ghosts with Teeth,” by Peter Crowther
  • King Death, by Paul Finch
  • “Near Zennor,” by Elizabeth Hand
  • “The Music of Bengt Karlsson, Murderer,” by John Ajvide Lindqvist
  • Gorel and the Pot Bellied God, by Lavie Tidhar

Short Fiction

  • “Dermot,” by Simon Bestwick
  • “Sad, Dark Thing,” by Michael Marshall Smith
  • “Florrie,” by Adam Nevill
  • “Alice Through the Plastic Sheet,” by Robert Shearman
  • “The Coffin-Maker’s Daughter,” by Angela Slatter


  • A Book of Horrors, edited by Stephen Jones
  • House of Fear, edited by Jonathan Oliver
  • The Weird, edited by Jeff and Ann Vandermeer
  • Gutshot, edited by Conrad Williams


  • Rumours of the Marvellous, by Peter Atkins
  • Mrs Midnight, by Reggie Oliver
  • Everyone’s Just So So Special, by Robert Shearman
  • A Glass of Shadow, by Liz Williams


  • Midnight in Paris, by Woody Allen
  • Attack the Block, by Joe Cornish
  • The Awakening, by Stephen Volk and Nick Murphy
  • Melancholia, by Lars Von Trier
  • Kill List, by Ben Wheatley and Amy Jump


  • Black Static, edited by Andy Cox
  • Interzone, edited by Andy Cox
  • SFX, edited by Dave Bradley
  • The Horror Zine, edited by Jeani Rector

Comic/Graphic Novel

  • Animal Man, by Jeff Lemire and Travel Foreman
  • Batwoman, by J. H. Williams III and W. Haden Blackman
  • Locke and Key, by Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez
  • The Unwritten, by Mike Carey and Peter Gross
  • The Walking Dead, by Robert Kirkman and Charlie Adlard

For more information…

Clarke Award Winner

The winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award was announced during the opening ceremonies of Sci-Fi-London 8: The Eighth Annual International Festival of Science Fiction and Fantastic Film. This year, the award included a prize of £2012. The winner is Jane Rogers for the novel The Testament of Jessie Lamb.

For more information…