National Book Foundation Honors Le Guin

Ursula K. Le Guin will receive the 2014 Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters from the National Book Foundation at this year’s National Book Awards Ceremony on November 19. The Medal was first presented in 1988 and Le Guin will be the 27th recipient.

For more information…

Le Guin Wins Ken Kesey Award

Ursula K. Le Guin has won the Ken Kesey Award for Fiction from Literary Arts, an organization that honors Oregonian authors. Le Guin received the award for her two volume collection The Unreal and The Real. Upon receiving the award, Le Guin noted that she presented the first fiction award for the Oregon Book Award in 1987.

Le Guin Feminist Science Fiction Fellowship Created

The Center for the Study of Women in Society has announced that in honor of its fortieth anniversary, it will be establishing, along with the University of Oregon Knight Library and the Robert D. Clark Honors College the Le Guin Feminist Science Fiction Fellowship. The Fellowship will encourage research within collections in the area of feminist science fiction. The Fellowship is open to any scholars using the feminist studies collections at those libraries and will provide a $3,000 travel grant. Applications for the first Fellowship are due no later than September 1.

For more information…

Lathe of Heaven Premieres

The Untitled Theatre Company, which previously debuted an adaptation of Philip K. Dick’s novel Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep will present an all new stage adaptation of Ursula K. Le Guin’s The Lathe of Heaven at the 3LD Art and Technology Center in New York from June 6 through June 30. The play is adapted and directed by Edward Einhorn.

For more information…