Reviews Logo
HomePreviousSite MapNextSearch

The reviews are sorted alphabetically by authors' last name -- one or more pages for each letter (plus one for Mc). All but some recent reviews are listed here. Links to those reviews appear on the Recent Feature Review Page.

Author & Fan Tribute Sites    Feature Reviews     An Interview with...
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   Mc   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z
Page  1  2  3  4  5  6

Elric in the Dream Realms Elric in the Dream Realms by Michael Moorcock
reviewed by Sandra Scholes
Elric of Melniboné is a sorcerer, prince of a fallen kingdom, despoiler of women and sometime physically weak figure, if not for the herbs he consumes to keep him alert and ready to do battle later. It would be easy to hate such an individual, but Elric is not intentionally cruel, and constantly in mourning for Cymoril, his wife who just happens to be the only woman he has ever truly loved.

City of the Beast City of the Beast by Michael Moorcock
reviewed by Nathan Brazil
This is the first novel in a trilogy, featuring an incarnation of the author's Eternal Champion, called Michael Kane, an all-American hero, whose life and times deliberately imitate Edgar Rice Burroughs' John Carter of Mars. For readers who have not encountered Burroughs Martian series, the name of the game is pure escapism. Those who prefer a high degree of scientific accuracy in their fiction will be disappointed. But, if your main priority is what used to be called a "rip-roaring adventure" then this novel may be just the one for the job.

The Metatemporal Detective The Metatemporal Detective by Michael Moorcock
reviewed by Steven H Silver
This is a collection of short stories, many of which follow Sir Seaton Begg, a detective in the vein of Sherlock Holmes or Sexton Blake, and an albino, Monsieur Zenith. The two men play a game of cat and mouse throughout the collection, sometimes in opposition to each other and at times on the same side. For all of Begg's detecting abilities, however, he is never quite sure of Zenith.

Wizardry & Wild Romance Wizardry & Wild Romance by Michael Moorcock
reviewed by Jayme Lynn Blaschke
Nobody has ever accused Michael Moorcock of being afraid to express himself. As one of the driving forces behind the New Wave, a renowned editor and prolific novelist and commentator, he has built a career out of not only following his instincts, but by keenly analyzing what he finds in the exotic locales said instincts lead him. In this collection of essays, he holds forth on the sub-genre most closely associated with the author of the enduring Elric of Melniboné series. The resulting commentary isn't always pretty, but it is invariably interesting and, at the very least, thought-provoking in ways the author surely intended.

The White Wolf's Son The White Wolf's Son by Michael Moorcock
reviewed by Steven H Silver
This novel follows two other Elric adventures, The Dreamthief's Daughter and The Skrayling Tree, all of which take place while Elric is tied to the rigging of Jagreen Lern's flagship but has managed to send his soul out to the other realms of the multiverse, most notably our own world. However, while the adventure, which centers on the young Oonagh von Beck, starts in our world in the twenty-first century, it quickly departs, eventually landing Elric, Oonagh, their allies and enemies, Klosterheim and Gaynor the Damned, in the world of the Dark Empire of Granbretan.

The Dreamthief's Daughter The Dreamthief's Daughter by Michael Moorcock
reviewed by Alma A. Hromic
He is a pioneering writer of his generation. His tortured prince, Elric of Melniboné, was a lasting memorable character with a complex, multi-dimensional existence and a brooding central sorrow which wounded his spirit but never dulled the edge of the warrior prince who continued doing what circumstances demanded of him. This is the latest novel in the Elric saga, and it plunges its protagonist squarely into the moral morass that was Nazi Germany in the 30s.

Gloriana or the Unfulfilled Queen Gloriana or the Unfulfilled Queen by Michael Moorcock
reviewed by David Soyka
For what will prove to be the ominous term of 13 years, unprecedented peace and prosperity characterizes Queen Gloriana's rule over the Albion empire and its various protectorates and allies, in antithesis to the madness and bloodshed of her father, King Hern. The power behind the throne, the architect of the elaborate myth of Gloriana that promotes and maintains this Golden Age, is her trusted Chancellor, Lord Montfallcon, who endured great personal sacrifice to survive the intrigues and purges of, and finally triumph over, Hern's corrupted court.

Behold the Man Behold the Man by Michael Moorcock
reviewed by Neil Walsh
This 1967 Nebula winner has a very mainstream feel to it. Sure, it begins with a time machine, and the story, after all, is about a guy who travels back to 28 AD to meet Jesus, but the flashbacks of that guy are to his previous life in England -- from the time of his childhood in the late 40s to his thoroughly mixed up adult life into the early 70s. The character of Karl Glogauer, the time traveller, is extremely realistic -- complex, contradictory, multi-layered, and both emotionally and psychologically messed up big-time.

Michael Moorcock's Multiverse Michael Moorcock's Multiverse by Michael Moorcock
reviewed by Steven H Silver
The author is known for his ability to recycle his characters and concepts into a variety of forms. This collection is confirmation of this ability. Originally published as a series of three tales in the magazine of the same name, this graphic novel weaves these disparate threads together well.

The War Amongst the Angels The War Amongst the Angels by Michael Moorcock
reviewed by Georges T. Dodds
Has Moorcock stretched the boundaries of the genre, or is this merely a semi-autobiographical novel presented in the framework of heroic fantasy? Is it brilliantly bold literature that redefines fantasy or self-absorbed drivel masked in complexity? Whatever it is, be prepared for innovative and experimental fantasy to challenge your humdrum reading, or be prepared for disapointment.

The Dancers at the End of Time The Dancers at the End of Time by Michael Moorcock
reviewed by Robert Francis
Jherek Carnelian is one of the last humans alive on Earth. He lives at the End of Time, and the people of his world have the power to instantly fulfill their every whim, thanks to millennia-old technologies. So why does Mrs. Amelia Underwood, reluctant time traveler and model citizen of Victorian England, stubbornly refuse to fall in love with him?

Kane of Old Mars Kane of Old Mars by Michael Moorcock
reviewed by Steven H Silver
Steven found this compendium to provide wonderful escapist fantasy set on a Mars that never was. It stands in marked contrast to more recent realistic depictions like those of Kim Stanley Robinson or Ben Bova. None can even approach Kane of Old Mars for sheer fun of the Burroughs-like portrayal of the planet.

Sailing to Utopia Sailing to Utopia by Michael Moorcock
reviewed by Steven H Silver
Steven feels the selections in Sailing to Utopia can be called minor Moorcock.

Page  1  2  3  4  5  6
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   Mc   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

HomePreviousSite MapNextSearch

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide